It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Anatomy and Physiology: Find Books
Subject Guide to accompany Human Anatomy and Physiology
These are some noteworthy titles that are available in print or electronic format.
Adventures in Human Being by Gavin Francis"Adventures in Human Being, with its deft mix of the clinical and the lyrical, is a triumph of the eloquent brain and the compassionate heart." --Wall Street Journal We assume we know our bodies intimately, but for many of us they remain uncharted territory, an enigma of bone and muscle, neurons and synapses. How many of us understand the way seizures affect the brain, how the heart is connected to well-being, or the why the foot holds the key to our humanity? In Adventures in Human Being, award-winning author Gavin Francis leads readers on a journey into the human body, offering a guide to its inner workings and a celebration of its marvels. Drawing on his experiences as a surgeon, ER specialist, and family physician, Francis blends stories from the clinic with episodes from medical history, philosophy, and literature to describe the body in sickness and in health, in living and in dying. At its heart, Adventures in Human Being is a meditation on what it means to be human. Poetic, eloquent, and profoundly perceptive, this book will transform the way you view your body.
Call Number: QP 34.5 .F697 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
Anatomy, Physiology, and Disease by Bruce J. Colbert; Jeff J. Ankney; Karen T. LeeThe engaging writing style of the book the added special features for visual learners, and the humor and analogies make this the perfect book for anyone in the allied health field. Anatomy, Physiology & Disease: An Interactive Journey includes an integrated student CDROM and website to enhance learning of the material and discourage memorization. Pathology is introduced after discussions of Anatomy and Physiology concepts in the form of special sections on related disease conditions, called Pathology Connections. This makes the connection as to why the understanding of the A&P concept discussed is so important to the pathologic process. Healthcare Professionals
Call Number: R 130.3 .C65 2009
Publication Date: 2008-08-06
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir MoiniAnatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Third Edition offers an engaging, approachable, and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology. The Third Edition features a total of six multifaceted 'Units' which build upon an understanding of basic knowledge, take readers through intermediate subjects, and finally delve into complex topics that stimulate critical thinking.Heavily revised with updated content throughout,Chapters include useful features, such as Common Abbreviations, Medical Terminology, the Metric System and more! Students will want to take advantage of the many resources available to reinforce learning --including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, flash cards for self-study, an interactive eBook with more than 20 animations, and interactive and printable Lab Exercises and Case Studies.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: QP 34.5 .M65 2020
Publication Date: 2019-01-17
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. NetterAtlas of Human Anatomy uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject, providing a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine. This 5th Edition features a stronger clinical focus-with new diagnostic imaging examples-making it easier to correlate anatomy with practice. Student Consult online access includes supplementary learning resources, from additional illustrations to an anatomy dissection guide and more. Netter. It's how you know. See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way! Expand your study at studentconsult.com, where you'll find a suite of learning aids including selected Netter illustrations, additional clinically-focused illustrations and radiologic images, videos from Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy, dissection modules, an anatomy dissection guide, multiple-choice review questions, "drag-and-drop" exercises, clinical pearls, clinical cases, survival guides, surgical procedures, and more. Correlate anatomy with practice through an increased clinical focus, many new diagnostic imaging examples, and bonus clinical illustrations and guides online.
Call Number: QM 25 .N46 2011
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by Valerie C. Scanlon; Tina SandersFlexible presentation of content makes the text suitable for any course. Precisely detailed, full-color illustrations throughout make every concept clear. Highly detailed anatomy photographs and full-color illustrations enhance visual learning. Clinical application boxes put theory into action. Extensive microbiology tables reinforce the text. Questions for every figure in the book encourage critical thinking and reinforce understanding of the image and the content. A wealth of pedagogical features promotes learning and includes chapter outlines * student objectives * new and related clinical terminology (with pronunciations) * study outlines * review questions and "For Further Thought" discussion topics * and a comprehensive glossary. Pretests and post-tests for every chapter with print and email capabilities assess progress.
Call Number: QP 34.5 .S288 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basic and Clinical Sciences Category! Anatomy texts just don't get any better than Gray's Anatomy for Students! Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study. Obtain reliable, accessible coverage of everything you will learn in your contemporary anatomy classes with expert knowledge from a team of authors who share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience. Easily locate and remember specific structures. More than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Expedite the review of basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Stay current and engaged in your anatomy courses with many new "In the Clinic" boxes, which offer access to in-depth clinical discussions related to specific diseases or procedures. Source your review material quickly and easily thanks to a list of additional relevant study aids at the beginning of each chapter. Improve your comprehension of cranial nerves with help from a brand-new visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, where you can also take advantage of an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, medical clinical cases, physical therapy clinical cases, self-assessment questions, and more. Further enhance your learning by pairing this textbook with its companion review products, Gray's Anatomy for Students Flashcards, 3rd Edition (ISBN: 978-1-4557-1078-2) and Gray's Atlas of Anatomy 2nd Edition (ISBN 978-1-4557-4802-0)! Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by John T. HansenFocus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this book is an ideal anatomy reference for students who want to make the most of their study time or need a concise review of clinical anatomy. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology. Every clinical correlation - more than 200 in all - is illustrated. Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and identify areas where you may need further study. Portable book size makes it easy to carry on the go. More review questions, including figure- and image-based questions More Clinical Focus boxes eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes additional multiple-choice questions, 3D models, and fully searchable text and images.
Call Number: QM 31 .N48 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Library Catalog Basic Search
Search for E-Books
Start with these resources to find e-books on your subject