Teaching and Learning Materials (Textboook, Courseware, and etc.):
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. OpenCourseWare, or OCW, are course materials created by universities and shared freely with the world via the internet.
- Bookboon's: textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.
- College Open Textbooks: a core textbook at Scottsdale Community College (SCC). Authored by members of the SCC Math Department faculty, it has been used by thousands of students. Continually improved, it is now part of a comprehensive resource package that includes online help and assessment tools as well as an instructor's guide in various subject areas.
- Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources: Anthropology & Archeology, Art, Biology & Genetics, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Engineering & Electronics, English & Composition, Health & Nursing, History, Languages & Communications, Literature, Law, Math, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Science, Sociology, Statistics & Probability.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): A growing collection of nearly 3000 online, open access scholarly books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
- Open SUNY Textbooks: Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.
- OpenStax & OpenStax College: Based on Rice University, OpenStax provides full text textbooks on math, science, social sciences, humanities, and AP.
- Open Textbook Library: Supported by Center for Open Education and Open Textbook Network, it provides access to peer-reviewed textbooks in the subject areas: Accounting & Finance, Business, Management & Marketing, Computer Science & Information Systems, Economics, Engineering, Foreign Languages, General Education, Humanities & Language, Law, Mathematics & Statistics, Natural & Physical Sciences, Social Sciences.
- The OrangeGrove Florida’s Open Education Resources: Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g. Canvas, Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn). Discover, contribute, and import repository resources directly from your LMS.
- Khan Academy: offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. It tackles math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.
- MIT BLOSSOMS: Math & Science video lessons for high school classes.
- MIT OPENCOURSEWARE: a Web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content.
Archives (books under copyright exemption, records, government data, and etc.):
- OpenDoar: Directory of open access repositories. It provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world for academic use.
- E-Books Directory: is a daily growing list of freely downloadable ebooks, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet.
- Access to Archival Databases (AAD): online access to records covering a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses from The National Archives.
- Forgotten Books: a London-based book publisher specializing in the restoration of old books, both fiction and non-fiction. More than a million books available to read online, download as ebooks, or purchase in print.
- HathiTrust Digital Library: Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries.
- Internet Archive: Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- National Academies Press: Full access to more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. The National Academies Press publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
- Project Gutenburg: offers over 50,000 free ebooks (copyright expired) for downloading or reading online. The collection can be browsed by author, title, language or recently posted.
- World Digital Library: multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures by U.S. Library of Congress with the support of UNESCO.
Artistic/Creative Works (images, audio/visual materials, and etc.):
Faculty Workshop --- Copyright and Creative Commons for OER: Home: provide practical exercises through which faculty learn how to identify, provide attribution for, and reuse materials that are under copyright, open access (public domain) or under Creative Commons licenses from Lehman College CUNY.
“Openly licensed educational resources can increase equity by providing all students, regardless of zip code, access to high quality learning materials that have the most up-to-date and relevant content.”
------- Secretary John King