/* This is the Niche Academy sync script */ Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EH426 -- Edgar Allan Poe: Find Books

This Library Guide directs you to sources for information on the nineteenth-century American author Edgar Allan Poe. The resources presented are selected and representative, not comprehensive, and are intended to provide a sampler of all the information

Page Overview

This page focuses on books.  It offers examples of the types of books which may be used during a research assignment.  One characteristic of the Library of Congress Classification System, which is the system that Houston Cole Library uses, is that like is shelved with like.  For the researcher this means that once you have found the location of the particular book you are seeking, you should scan the titles of nearby books to see if there are others that might help you with your research project.

 

Selection of Circulating Books

These are some books on Edgar Allen Poe available through Houston Cole Library.  HCL provides some books in print format, some in electronic format, and some in both.  The catalog record for each book indicates the formats in which it is available.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

 

Advanced Search

Search for eBooks

Start with these Databases to Locate Books

 

To find books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:

  •  
  • Ebook Central
    eLibrary® delivers full-text and multimedia reference essentials through an easy-to-use interface. Students and researchers can find the information they need from more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) files. Results can be sorted by relevance, date, file size, Lexile or reading level, publication, and source. Librarians and other educators can find content that's directly linked to state and national teaching standards.
     
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    More than 60 electronic book collections from some of the world’s most renowned STM publishing houses, including Springer, Taylor & Francis and Wiley InterScience®.

    More information regarding EBSCO's eBook Collection may be found on the University of Texas libraries website located here:

    http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/titles.php?id=260#what
     
  •  
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
    A single source for e-reference for students, professionals, students, and general readers. More than 7,000 authoritative full-text titles are offered from Gale and Gale's publishing partners, addressing eighteen widely-studied subject areas. For more more information on Gale's publishing partners, go here

    http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/GvrlFP?msg=ma
  •  
  • Salem Literature Titles
    Salem Literature Titles provides access to a growing number of reference works both in traditional, printed and online formats. Salem Literature is an online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Salem currently offers several series, including the Critical Insights series, which focuses on important authors and works of literature.

    http://www.literature.salempress.com/

Search for Electronic Reference Books

Start with these Databases to Locate Reference Books

 

To find reference books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:

  •  
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium
    Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series. The Premium Collection includes a superb range of Oxford titles, updated regularly with an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, plus the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and new heavily illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals. This means a total of over 1.4 million entries, including longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.

    Subscribers to the Premium Collection also benefit from excellent search functionality which makes it easy to choose between longer or shorter entries from subject reference titles, definitions from English or bilingual dictionaries, and quotations.

    The Premium Collection is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.
     
 

Selection of Reference Books

What are Reference Books?

Reference books

  • are of many types: bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, gazetteers, etc.
  • fall into two broad categories
    • reference sources (e.g., dictionaries, encyclopedias)
    • reference tools (bibliographies, indexes 

How are Reference Sources used?

Reference sources (esp. specialized encyclopedias) can be used to

  • obtain background information and get a broad view of a topic prior to beginning research
  • narrow a topic to a subject suitable for a research paper
  • discover unfamiliar people, places, and things pertaining to the broad topic 

Aside from assisting in research, these specialized reference encyclopedias also can                                                               

  • help students prepare for exams (especially comprehensive examinations for degrees)                                           
  • provide students enough basic information to participate in class discussions
  • help teachers prepare lesson plans for things which will be covered in class but which are not a major part of the syllabus   

How are Reference Tools used?

Reference tools (bibliographies, databases, indexes)) can be used to

  • find more in-depth sources pertaining to the research subject      

 

Below is a selection of our reference books for Edgar Allan Poe.  Please use the Library JaxCat Catalog to find more reference books.