Skip to main content

Network of Alabama Academic Libraries: Committee Descriptions

Committee Descriptions

NETWORK OF ALABAMA ACADEMIC LIBRARIES
COMMITTEES AND OTHER GROUPS

Committees: All NAAL committee appointments are for one year, October 1 through September 30. Each NAAL library director is invited to nominate candidates for committee appointments. From these nominations, the NAAL chairman, with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, appoints committee chairmen and members. The Chairman may also appoint others with appropriate knowledge to serve on committees. The NAAL chairman is a voting ex officio member of all committees.

ADPNet Steering Committee: The directors of Alabama Digital Preservation Network members annually appoint a representative to serve on the ADPNet Steering Committee. These committee members elect their own chairman. This chairman also appoints an ADPNet Technical Policy Committee from among the staff of the ADPNet members.

Task Forces: From time to time, the NAAL chairman may appoint a Task Force to undertake a specific charge. The Chairman may call for nominations and volunteers. The Chairman appoints the Task Force chairman and members, who serve until the charge has been met.

Working Groups: Working Groups may be formed by the participants of a specific project to undertake a task needing immediate attention or specialized expertise. These informal groups exist as long as the project participants need their expertise.

User Groups: NAAL sponsors users groups to encourage participation in and discussion about a program or activity. Users groups are open to anyone interested in the program or activity.

Open Meetings: All NAAL meetings comply with the open meetings laws of Alabama.

Frequency of Meetings: Each committee chairman determines the frequency, place, day, and time of committee meetings. Notice of committee meetings must be distributed at least 10 days prior to the meeting.

Work Methodology: Committee and task force reports are presented at the Planning Retreat for discussion. Each committee and task force prepares recommendations for review and action (if needed) by the Advisory Council. The committee chairman selects the most appropriate work methodology and may use regular and virtual meetings, solicit written reports, conduct surveys, etc.

Funding: No funds are appropriated for the work of committees, although some committees provide oversight for funded programs, such as Resource Sharing. NAAL does not reimburse committee members for travel or other expenses; these are contributed by the committee members’ institutions.

Services in-Kind: Committee members contribute time. Each member’s institution is responsible for reimbursing any travel expenses.

Network Staff Time: The Network director confers with each committee chair to develop the agenda and prepare for meetings. The director participates in discussion and maintains records for all meetings. The NAAL office may collect and distributed information, as needed for discussion, at the request of a committee chair.

Administrative Committees

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Charge: This committee was created in 1986 to evaluate progress of NAAL and recommend future activities for NAAL. It sponsors the annual Planning Retreat and receives and reviews committee reports and recommendations, or other issues and activities, prior to the retreat to prepare the Annual Plan for consideration by the Executive Council. It may also respond to requests by the Advisory Council, Executive Council, or NAAL chairman to prepare appropriate recommendations or reports.

Composition: The committee chairman is the past-chairman of NAAL. Other members are the NAAL chairman, chairmen of NAAL committees and task forces, and the ACHE representative.

Frequency of Meetings: The committee meets at least annually, usually jointly with the Budget Committee. The joint committees review the annual plan and budget to prepare recommendations for review by the Executive Council.

Work Methodology: The committee prepares recommendations and reports for the Executive Council, Advisory Council, and/or NAAL chairman, as requested. The committee prepares the program for the Annual Planning Retreat and drafts the Annual Plan.

Network Staff Time: The director consults with the chairman to prepare the agenda for meetings; provides information requested by the committee, such as collecting data and preparing drafts of materials; prepares the minutes; and follows-up on decisions made at the meetings.

 

BUDGET COMMITTEE

Charge: The Budget Committee prepares recommendations for expenditures from funds appropriated to or otherwise received by NAAL, monitors the budget throughout the year, and recommends any budget changes needed during the year. In addition, the committee prepares the budget request for the subsequent year. Upon approval by NAAL, the budget request is forwarded to the ACHE Executive Director. The chairman of the Budget Committee also serves as Treasurer for the NAAL Contingency Fund.

Composition: Composition generally reflects the same composition as the Executive Council, that is, representatives of the ASERL members, other public institutions, and the private institutions.

Frequency of Meetings: The committee meets as needed, but at least annually to prepare the budget recommendation for the annual meeting of the Advisory Council. For the past several years, the Budget Committee and the Planning Committee have met jointly to prepare the budget and plan for the coming year.

Work Methodology: The committee monitors the budget throughout the year and recommends revisions as needed. In addition, the committee prepares a recommendation for expenditures each year and prepares the budget request for the next legislative session. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education serves as fiscal agent for NAAL and prepares month-to-date budget analyses for the Committee and the director. The University of Montevallo serves at fiscal agent for the Contingency Fund and prepares an annual report for the year ending September 30.

Network Staff Time: The director provides budget reports to the committee chairman and the NAAL chairman throughout the year and assists in developing the budget recommendations.

 

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Charge: The Membership Committee receives and reviews all applications or nominations for membership and forwards recommendations for action to the Advisory Council. The committee reviews annually the roster of existing NAAL membership to ascertain whether the general and cooperative members continue to meet qualifications for their membership category and remain members in good standing. In the event of a negative finding, the committee reports this fact to the Advisory Council, together with the reason, for consideration of the Advisory Council.

Composition: The Bylaws stipulate the composition as three members of the Executive Council appointed by the chairman of the Executive Council.

Work Methodology: At its discretion, the committee may conduct site visits of applicants for membership.

Network Staff Time: The director receives applications for membership and forwards these to the committee chairman. As appropriate, the director prepares background information to accompany the application. The director consults with the chairman to prepare the agenda for meetings; provides information requested by the committee, such as collecting data and preparing drafts of materials; prepares the minutes, and follows-up on decisions made at the meetings.

 

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Charge: The Nominating Committee annually prepares a slate for election to the NAAL Executive Council. If vacancies occur at other times during the year, the committee nominates candidates for these vacancies.

Composition: Members are appointed by the chairman of NAAL.

Frequency of Meetings: As needed. The committee may conduct its work in a telephone conference. In recent years, the committee has met during the Directors Planning Retreat to prepare the slate.

Work Methodology: A slate of nominees for office. The committee recommendation is submitted to the Executive Council.

Network Staff Time: The director consults with the chairman to prepare the agenda for meetings; provides information requested by the committee, prepares the minutes, and follows-up on decisions made at the meetings. After the slate has been prepared, the director contacts possible nominees to obtain their permission to be nominated for office.

Program Committees

CONTINUING EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Charge: This committee’s charge derives from NAAL’s annual plan, which states: “NAAL will coordinate training opportunities as needed to assure that library staff and other information users attain the knowledge and skills necessary to support effective and efficient use of online and other relevant information.” In practice, the committee promotes and develops continuing professional education and staff development initiatives for all NAAL programs. Updated 3/2019

Composition: Appointments reflect expertise needed to plan and offer a variety of continuing education opportunities. The number of members is not set and the committee usually includes librarians who are responsible for bibliographic instruction and staff development programs in their own libraries.

Work Methodology: For the past several years, NAAL has not been able to fund training, so most programs have been those that could be arranged for no cost. In 2005, the committee developed a series of workshops around the theme “Emerging New Technologies” and invited vendors in give presentations about their planned innovations. The Committee also arranged for NAAL to offer the ACRL workshop, Marketing Your Library, with each participant paying a registration fee to meet the costs. Other NAAL committees may also plan workshop to advance their charges. From time to time, these committees may ask for assistance to arrange these events.

Network Staff Time: As requested by the chairman, the director will handle local arrangements for workshops, complete arrangements for speakers (especially if funded by NAAL), take and distribute minutes of meetings.

 

DIGITAL CONTENT COMMITTEE

Charge: NAAL is committed to promoting digital innovation and supporting the creation of opportunities for high-quality digital content development amongst its members. The Digital Content Committee oversees NAAL’s digital content programs. Previous projects have included development of funding proposals for two National Leadership grants from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services that resulted in the creation of AlabamaMosaic and the Alabama Digital Preservation Network, as well as a partnership with the Alabama Historical Commission to implement a two-year planning grant under the IMLS Connecting Collections program to support the development of a statewide plan to improve the care of collections in cultural repositories. The Digital Content Committee keeps abreast of rules, standards, and developments in technology and policy that enable NAAL members to develop and sustain digital content in a manner that is consistent, efficient, and effective. Updated 3/2019

Composition: Appointments reflect expertise needed to support digital collection development and other electronic information resources, such as theses and dissertations.

Notable Achievements: AlabamaMosaic and ADPNet along with growing expertise among members for the creating digital collections.
Work Methodology: The committee chairman selects the most appropriate work methodology and may use regular and virtual meetings, solicit written reports, conduct surveys, etc.

Funding: No funds are appropriated for the work of committees. Once NAAL received each of the IMLS grants, the project participants formed a Working Group for implementation. The project participants provided project oversight, including overseeing expenditures of project funds.

Services in-Kind: Committee members contribute time. Each member’s institution is responsible for reimbursing any travel expenses.

Network Staff Time: The Network director confers with the committee chair to develop the agenda and prepare for meetings. The director participates in discussion and maintains records for all meetings. The NAAL office may collect and distributed information, as needed for discussion, at the request of a committee chair. The NAAL director served as project director for the AlabamaMosaic project and as fiscal coordinator for the ADPNet project.

 

ONLINE CONTENT COMMITTEE updated 3/2019

Charge: The Online Content Committee oversees NAAL’s Online Content Program. The Committee recommends policies, develops initiatives, and supports the analysis of potential acquisitions as well as recurring expenditures for licensed information resources. The Online Content Committee also advises the director of NAAL regarding the development and maintenance of tools, procedures, and best practices for managing information resource acquisitions by the NAAL consortium. The Online Content Committee works in a spirit that fulfills the mission of NAAL: to support advanced research by NAAL Member Institutions through expanding access to information resources, particularly those resources that are most relevant to advancing the scientific, medical and technical research initiatives of these Institutions and that contribute to the economic development of the State of Alabama.  

Historical Note: This committee evolved from a merger of the Cooperative Collection Development and Electronic Access to Information Programs in recognition that electronic content could not be separated from traditional print in collection management decisions.

Composition: Appointments to the Online Content Committee should reflect expertise in acquisitions, collection management, or electronic resources management relevant to the work of the Online Content Program of the NAAL consortium. Librarians with direct responsibilities for and/or experience in negotiating complex license agreements with vendors are preferred. There is no set number of members, but each NAAL Member Institution will have only one voting representative on the Committee; other representatives may participate in discussions as observing members of the Committee.

Work Methodology: The Chair selects the most appropriate work methodology, including the scheduling of in-person or virtual meetings, solicitation of reports, administration of surveys, and other tasks relevant to the charge.

Funding: NAAL does not appropriate funding to support the work of the Online Content Committee or provide reimbursement for any associated expenses.

Services in-Kind: Committee members contribute time. NAAL Member Institutions are responsible for paying any travel or other expenses incurred by Committee members as part of the work of the Online Content Committee.

Network Staff Time: The director of NAAL is responsible for negotiating licenses with vendors for information resource acquisitions, as well as overseeing any tools, procedures, and best practices required to manage licensed information resources such as the NAAL Access Portal.

 

RESOURCE SHARING COMMITTEE

Charge: This committee oversees the Resource Sharing Program, although traditional interlibrary loan activities have become routine. For several years, the Committee has monitored software to implement a statewide unmediated borrowing program to enable library users to place their own electronic borrowing requests and to be “walk-in” users of other NAAL libraries.

Several NAAL libraries established an unmediated borrowing program called ALLIES using the Universal Borrower module available with their Voyager library systems. NAAL accepted this as a “pilot project” for the planned statewide unmediated borrowing program. ALLIES opened participation in its meetings to representatives of all NAAL libraries.

Composition: Appointments to the committee reflect the diversity of NAAL, that is, representatives of the ASERL members, other public institutions, private institutions, and cooperative members. Additional members are appointed from the staffs of the NAAL member libraries (such as interlibrary loan librarians) that have special expertise needed for committee deliberations.

Notable Achievements: A successful Resource Sharing Program, external funding to implement to electronic transmission (ARIEL) of copied ILL items, expedited ILL resulting in exceptional delivery (UPS) for borrowed items, ALLIES. In 1994, the Committee examined why some ILL requests are not filled; and as a result members made procedural changes to improve their fill rates

Work Methodology: Group discussion. The committee reviews reports (such as the OCLC interlibrary loan statistics) and also prepares reports (analysis of interlibrary loan traffic among Alabama's academic libraries). The committee monitors interlibrary loan traffic among NAAL members and recommends resource sharing policy for the Resource Sharing Program.

Network Staff Time: The NAAL office collects interlibrary loan data from OCLC, reviews and pays the UPS invoices for ILL package delivery, and responds to requests to solve problems.

Other Groups

ADPNET STEERING COMMITTEE

Charge: The ADPNet Steering Committee oversees and manages the Alabama Digital Preservation Network. The Steering Committee is responsible for recommending general ADPNet policy, reviewing and approving requests to join the Network, and reviewing and approving requests to increase ADPNet storage capacity.

Composition: The library director of each APDNet member appoints a voting representative to the ADPNet Steering Committee. The term of service is one year; and representatives can be reappointed to subsequent annual terms. The Steering Committee annually elects a chairman from its membership.

Notable Achievements: ADPNet is a successful statewide, distributed, low-cost storage solution to archive locally-created digital files.

Work Methodology: The committee prepares recommendations for review and action (if needed) by the Advisory Council. The committee chairman selects the most appropriate work methodology and may use regular and virtual meetings. Currently, the Steering Committee holds a monthly telephone conference and an annual meeting. The committee chairman also appoints a Technical Policy Committee to review and prepare recommendations for issues related to ADPNet capacity, technical specifications, and hardware and software. In addition, other Special Committees or Working Groups may be appointed by Steering Committee chairman as deemed necessary to advance ADPNet. The chairman is an ex officio member of such other committees.

Frequency of Meetings: The committee has monthly telephone conference meetings and an annual “working” meeting. The chairman may schedule other meetings as needed to oversee ADPNet. The committee chairman determines the frequency, place, day, and time of meetings.

Funding: No funds are appropriated for the committee. NAAL does not reimburse committee members for travel or other expenses; these are contributed by the participating institutions.

Services in-Kind: Committee members contribute time. Each member’s institution is responsible for reimbursing any travel expenses.

Network Staff Time: The Network director confers with each committee chair to develop the agenda and prepare for meetings. The director participates in discussion and maintains records for all meetings. The NAAL office may collect and distributed information, as needed for discussion, at the request of a committee chair.

 

TASK FORCE TO PROMOTE USE OF THE AVL

Charge: This task force was established in FY2010 to develop a marketing strategy and materials to promote AVL databases to K-12 educators. The Task Force will consider using ACRL Marketing Your Library methodologies as well as current social networking and communication media to develop its marketing strategy. The target audiences for this marketing effort are 1) the faculty and students in Colleges of Education, and 2) Practicing K-12 teachers.

Composition: The NAAL chairman appointed members from nominations made by the NAAL library directors along with others having expertise needed to meet the charge. These members will serve on the task force until its charge has been met or it is discharged by the Advisory Council.

Frequency of Meetings: As needed to advance the charge

Work Methodology: Each task force prepares recommendations for review and action (if needed) by the Advisory Council. The chairman selects the most appropriate work methodology and may use regular and virtual meetings, solicit written reports, conduct surveys, etc.

Funding: No funds are appropriated for the work of the task force, but it may request funds if needed to develop marketing materials. NAAL does not reimburse committee members for travel or other expenses; these are contributed by the participating institutions.

Services in-Kind: Committee members contribute time. Each member’s institution is responsible for reimbursing any travel expenses.

Network Staff Time: The Network director confers with the chairman to develop the agenda and prepare for meetings. The director participates in discussion and maintains records for all meetings. The NAAL office may collect and distributed information, as needed for discussion, at the request of a committee chair.

 

ALABAMAMOSAIC USERS GROUP

Charge: The AlabamaMosaic Users Group encourages participation in AlabamaMosaic and provides updates about content, technology, or other issues. Contributors are often invited to share information about their digital collections. NAAL solicits suggestions to improve the program.

Composition: Meetings are open to anyone interested in AlabamaMosaic.

Frequency of Meetings: Twice each year. NAAL sponsors the fall meeting, and the Alabama Library Association Technical Services Round Table sponsors the spring meeting.

Work Methodology: Participants are encouraged to ask questions and raise issues related to the program. The agenda may also include presentations by content contributors.

Funding: No funds are allocated for the users group meetings. The spring meeting is part of the Alabama Library Association annual conference, and participants must register for the conference.

Services in-Kind: Auburn University Libraries information systems staff participate and contribute time.

Network Staff Time: The Network director confers with the Auburn University Libraries information systems director to develop the agenda and prepare for meetings. NAAL handles local arrangements for the fall meeting; the Technical Services Round Table program chairman handles local arrangements for the spring meeting