Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Therapy: Finding Full Text Articles

Resources for Respiratory Therapy

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Methods of Finding Full Text Articles

Full Text Finder

If the Library does not subscribe to the journal you need in print, or it is not in the database you are using, another way to find it is Full Text Finder, available from the Journals tab on the Library homepage. Search by subject, title, etc. to see if a journal is available in an online database. If it is, you may then click one of the links to access that database. A search box is on the top left of this page.

Locating Items in the Library Catalog

  • Start at the Library homepage
  • In the Search the Catalog (JaxCat) box, enter your journal title
  • Select Journal Title, and type the title in the search box
  • You will need a call number to locate a print journal in the Library
  • There will be a link to Electronic Periodical for electronic format

PubMed/Medline

Some full text access is available, indicated with the logo and name of a Library-subscribed database or Free Fulltext Article button with a database name. Other sources include publisher’s websites. Linked articles will be marked with a button in the abstract view. Also, check JaxCat to see if we subscribe to the journal you need if it is not linked. Find a journal’s full name in PubMed results by hovering your mouse pointer over the abbreviation.

 

 

Finding Full Text Articles

Finding full text articles in Library databases can be done by several different methods.

First, look at your results list. There are various buttons at the end of each database record

If the article is available in full text, you will see links labeled PDF Full Text    Click on the PDF link to open the article with Adobe Reader

Another link you will see is the Full Text through LinkSource  Full Text Click on this one to go to Full Text Finder to find out if the Library provides access to the specific journal title..

There may also be a link to search JaxCat for the journal title This searches the Library catalog for the journal
 

Health and Sciences Librarian

Paula Barnett-Ellis's picture
Paula Barnett-Ellis
Contact:
9th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
256-782-5249
256-782-5872
pbarnett@jsu.edu
Website