SW 332 - Social Policy and Services: Statistical Information on Health and Poverty

"To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship."

"...a non-partisan initiative that brings together diverse perspectives from the political, policy, advocacy and foundation communities to find genuine solutions to the economic hardship confronting millions of Americans."

Links to information about Alabama's cities and towns.

A yearly county-by-county of statistical information on Poverty in Alabama.

The American Fact Finder website is part of the U.S. Census agency. Here you can find population statistics, economic statistics, poverty and health statistics, and much more. This web page provides more information about some of their surveys.

Information about Jacksonville State University, it's students, staff and faculty.

"QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people."

NOTE: Links to more statistics on the left hand side of the page.

This site has Cancer Facts and Figures; Colorectal Cancer Facts; Cancer Facts and Figures for African Americans plus clinical trials and much more.

Numerous statistical data and reports. A good site to go for health statistics. Also a very useful Wellness website. It covers nutrition, physical activity and obesity at the local school

Ranks counties by various health standards. This site provides an excellent summary of county health data.

A to Z health topics with information on Drugs and videos.

You will find a great deal of information regarding health at all age levels, gender and ethnic groups.

Includes state by state health information and other reports.

An excellent search engine for finding government information at the National, State and Local level.

The Official website of the State of Alabama. Search on the name of your community in the search box. community

Provides links to information from various county organizations.

A large database that includes listings or organizations that are exempt from paying taxes: Charitable, Church and Religious, Political, Private and other non-profit organizations.
To search this database do the following:
1. Click on the "Exempt Organizations Select Check Tool" button.
2. Click on the circle next to "Have filed form 990-N'
3. Type in the name of the City and choose your state then Click the Search Button.
4. When results show, click on the name of the Organization for more information. There should be contact information.