As there is no law school at JSU, the library law collection is mainly for curriculum support. Resources for business law, communication law, criminal law, correction law, education law, emergency management, health care law, tax law and other essential resources are priorities. The following list provides LAW related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access). For more databases from the Library, please click here.
Circulating/Reference Collection Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks on 10th Floor of the Library under Call Number K:
|K||General. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence||KG||Latin America. Central America. West Indies|
|KD||United Kingdom and Ireland||KH||South America|
|KDZ||America. North America||KJ-KK||Europe|
|KE||Canada||KL-KW||Asia. Africa. Pacific Area. Antarctica|
Law of nations
Click here for new books that the Library recently purchased. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these E-books. InterLibrary Loan Service is available as well.
Microforms Microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).
Government Documents Most government documents for law are located on 10th floor under call number K. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.
Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to EBSCOhost Searching: Library Publications for a list of online periodicals.
Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.
General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.
are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of library databases can be accessed here.
Normal Working Hours
Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :
Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.
Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M. Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.
Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library
Nolo Legal Topics: thousands of up-to-date articles on everyday legal topics.
Nolo's free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions: Plain English definitions for legal terms.
LawHelp.org: provides referrals to local legal aid, basic information about legal rights, court forms, self-help information, court information, and etc.
Municode Library: county, city, or village charters and ordinances.
Family Law in the 50 States: Summarize basic law in each state by topic, including custody, alimony and grounds for divorce from ABA.
Gale LegalForms: Part of Alabama Virtual Library. Gale LegalForms brings together thousands of authentic, professional, national and state-specific legal forms and templates including business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Forms included range from landlord tenant, wills, power of attorney, and small business contracts. These forms are fill-in-the-blank, downloadable, and continuously updated to reflect current Alabama laws. More information on how to use this database can be accessed by visiting PPT "Using Alabama Virtual Library".