Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EH -- Useful Books Series for Literature: Book Series: Circulating Books

This LibGuide primarily is for English majors and breaks out and elaborates on the Books pages in the EH501 LibGuide. It primarily is an annotated bibliography of series books, both circulating and reference. These series are useful starting points for

Page Overview

This page lists important series of circulating books represented in Houston Cole Library's holdings, along with descriptions (where available) and JaxCat links to the books in a series that the library owns.

Important Book Series for Literature

Circulating Books:  The circulating books listed and described below mostly are anthologies (essay collections) with perhaps a monographic series or two included.  A copy/paste JaxCat link is included for each series to reveal the titles in that series owned by the library.  The contents of some of the anthologies comprise articles already published in journals, which offers the possibility that one of the series books may have the article when full text is not available in an electronic database.

Regarding the Strategies and Sources series, the first chapter of each book is a tutorial devoted to performing research and provides less information than an entire book on the subject would contain, but far more than can be included in a LibGuide.  Read the headnote by the editors on the first page of the book to get an idea of the book's contents.

Bloom's Major Literary Characters

Description/Site url:  https://www.goodreads.com/series/123433-bloom-s-major-literary-characters

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=major+literary+characters&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=SERI&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Cambridge Companion to  .  .  .

Description/Site url:  https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-companions/the-cambridge-companions-to-literature-and-classics

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg=cambridge+companion&searchCode=GKEY%5E*&recCount=25&searchType=1&page.search.search.button=Search

Cambridge History of  .  .  .

Description/Site url: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories/cambridge-histories-literature

JaxCat link: http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?LOCAL&searchArg=cambridge%20history%20of&searchType=0&recCount=25&searchCode=T246

Critical Essays on  .  .  .

Description/Site url:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/202339.Critical_Essays_on_Tennessee_Williams (description applies to entire                             series) 

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?LOCAL&searchArg=critical%20essays%20on&searchType=0&recCount=25&searchCode=T246

Essays and Studies

Description:  an annual, themed anthology sponsored by the English Association; essays may be on obscure authors/things, and some of the individual articles may be accessible through the Gemfinder/Discovery database

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=essays+and+studies&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=english+association&argType2=phrase&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2  

Modern Critical Interpretations

Description/Site url:  https://www.publishinghistory.com/modern-critical-interpretations-chelsea.html

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=modern+critical+interpretations&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=chelsea+house&argType2=phrase&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Modern Critical Views

Description/Site url:  https://www.mackin.com/PublisherShowcase/INFOBASE%20PDFS/Blooms%20Modern%20Critical.pdf

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=modern+critical+views&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=SERI&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Oxford Handbooks

Description/Site url: https://global.oup.com/academic/content/series/o/oxford-handbooks-ohbk/?type=listing&subjectcode1=1793239%7CAHU00010&subjectcode1=1793239%7CAHU00010&subjectcode2=1802191%7CAHU01560&lang=en&cc=us

JaxCat link: http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=oxford+handbook&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=literature&argType2=all&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Strategies and Sources

Description/Site url:  https://rowman.com/action/series/scp/lrs

JaxCat link: http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=strategies+and+sources&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=SERI&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Twayne's Author Series

Description/Site url:  https://library.uncw.edu/eresources/twaynes_author_series

JaxCat link(s):  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=Twayne%27s+English+authors+series&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

                   http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=Twayne%27s+United+States+authors+series&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2 

                   http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=Twayne%27s+world+authors+series&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2           

Twentieth Century Interpretations

Description/Site url:  https://www.publishinghistory.com/twentieth-century-interpretations-prentice-hall.html

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=twentieth+century+interpretations&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=prentice+hall&argType2=phrase&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Twentieth Century Views

Description/Site url:  https://www.publishinghistory.com/twentieth-century-views-prentice-hall.html

JaxCat link:  http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=twentieth+century+views&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=&argType2=all&searchCode2=SERI&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2 

Understanding Contemporary American Literature

Description/Site link: https://uscpress.com/Understanding-Contemporary-American-Literature

JaxCat url: http://jaxcat.jsu.edu/vwebv/search?searchArg1=understanding+contemporary+&argType1=phrase&searchCode1=GKEY&combine2=and&searchArg2=south+carolina&argType2=phrase&searchCode2=GKEY&combine3=and&searchArg3=&argType3=all&searchCode3=GKEY&page.search.search.button=Search&year=2020-2021&fromYear=&toYear=&location=all&place=all&type=all&status=all&medium=all&language=all&recCount=25&searchType=2

Series Searching

Search Strategy:

Perform a JaxCat search.

  • click on a title from the results list
  • if there is a series line in the book's full bibliographic record, click on the hyperlink
    • this should generate a results list of all the books in that series owned by Houston Cole Library

To learn all the books in a series

  • copy/paste the series title into a Google Basic Search box <search>
    • among the results list should be a link either for the series itself or the publisher (which should lead to a link for the series)
    • there may be other books in the series that might interest you

NOTE: At Jacksonville State University, students have interlibrary loan privileges.