This page discusses electronic database searching and offers tips on how to perform searches.
NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.
If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.
Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).
When you're prompted for a student/staff ID and your last name, type in your student/staff number (all numbers, no dashes, no spaces) including ALL leading zeroes and your last name. For example:
Click the "Submit" button and you're in! Once you have been authenticated, you can begin searching the resource. If you have any problems accessing the databases, use the contact information in the Help box above to contact us.
Why use electronic databases?
To identify and locate "partial" items
Two approaches: Library home page (scroll down) Subject Guides <click>, Subject List <click>, and then choose a subject <click> and then a database; OR Subject Specialists <click>, Nuttall <click>, and then (for example) Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject and select a database.
Database selection depends on not only the subject being researched, but also on the approach to that subject
NOTE: The following information references EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Premier, partly because the library subscribes to so many of them and partly because the EBSCO interface is so user friendly.
Search panel (make sure database is set for Advanced Search)
Center pane (Search Results)
Left pane (Refine Results)
Right pane (Tools)
1. Make sure database is set for Advanced Search (three search boxes stacked).
2. Enter principal (broadest or main) term in top Search box; <search>.
3. Peruse search results for relevancy and additional filtering terms.
4. Consider alternate search terms and truncation.
5. Enter first filtering term in middle Search box; <search>.
6. Enter additional refining terms (if needed) in third and following Search box(es).
Add rows, change Boolean operators and search fields as needed.
Use the left pane to limit search results; use the right (Tools) pane for citation formats and full text retention options.
Levels of electronic database searching
Electronic databases may be searched on three levels:
Advantages of searching a native (single) database
Disadvantages of searching a native database
Advantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Disadvantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Advantages of Gemfinder Search
Disadvantages of Gemfinder Discovery Search
To simul-search HCL databases: