Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art 625: Design Research Readings and Seminar: Home

This is a research guide for Art 625

Fine Arts Librarian

Carley Knight's picture
Carley Knight
Contact:
6th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5246
256-782-5872
esknight@jsu.edu
Website

JSU ART DEPARTMENT

Graphic Design LibGuide

Guide for Art 625: Design Research Readings and Seminar

Start Your Research with SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods can help you with every stage of your research project. 

Nearly every research project has 9 main steps:

  1. Defining a Topic
  2. Developing a Researchable Research Question
  3. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method
  4. Researching Ethically and Safely
  5. Reviewing the Literature
  6. Doing Fieldwork/Gathering Data
  7. Analyzing Your Data/Findings
  8. Writing Up
  9. Dissemination

1. Defining a Topic

You may already have a topic in mind, or your topic was assigned to you.  If not, search Topic on SRM, and this book chapter entry, “Choosing a Topic” will help you choose a sound area to study.

 

2. Developing a Researchable Research Question

A research question is more refined than a topic.  For help writing your research question, do a search. An encyclopedia entry is a good place to start for an introductory overview.

3. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method

The Methods Map can help you choose a method if you’re not sure which to use.  If you already have your method, you can search directly for it.  The search results will provide both brief explanations of the method via dictionary and encyclopedia entries as well as in-depth how-tos in book-length entries.

 

4. Researching Ethically and Safely

If ethics is a concern for your project, SRM contains a number of resources to help.

 

5. Reviewing the Literature

A literature review is a crucial step to monitor what has already been written about your topic. SRM has many resources on how to conduct a literature review.

6. Doing Fieldwork/Gathering Data

7. Analyzing Your Data/Findings

8. Writing Up

Books with step-by-step information on hundreds of data collection methods are included.  In this instance, our researcher has chosen a survey, and Designing Surveys includes steps on writing and organizing the questions, designing and selecting the sample, and tips on reducing sources of error in the collection.  Resources specific to data analysis and writing up your findings are also included.

                                             

9. Dissemination

Dissemination might be as simple as turning in your paper at the end of term. If you are completing a dissertation and/or looking to publish, SRM has information on that as well.

How to link Google Scholar to your library account

How to use Google Scholar in conjunction with your JSU Library account

It is possible to connect Google Scholar to your JSU Library account. By doing so, JSU Library links will appear in your search results allowing you to search our databases through Google. This works most of the time, but there are instances where it is better to search through individual databases, especially if you are doing more intensive research.

Here are the steps to link your account:

Go to https://scholar.google.com

It is possible to do this without using a Google account, but signing in will allow you to save your research.

  1. Click the "hamburger" icon (three horizontal bars) on the top left of the page.
  2. Then click "Settings" and "Library links".

In the search box on the library links page, type in "Jacksonville State University"

Check the box for Jacksonville State University

Click Save.

JSTOR

Sage Research Methods

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Google Books Search

Google Book Search

WorldCat First Search (LIbrary subscription)

Join the 6th Floor Conversation on Microsoft Teams