Skip to main content
Banner Image

Technology& Engineering: Home

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in technology and engineering.

Library Subscribed Databases for Technology & Engineering (ID Required)

The Department of Technology & Engineering (TEC) offers degree programs including Pre-Engineering program, Applied Manufacturing Engineering program, Applied Electronics Engineering program, Industrial Leadership program, Occupational Safety and Health Management program. And the department also offers courses leading to the Master of Science degree with a major in Manufacturing Systems Technology. JSU Library provides information resources for curriculum support. The following list provides TEC related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access):

Technology Interdisciplinary Databases:

Open Sources for Technology & Engineering (No ID Required)

 

  • United States Patent and TradeMark Office: Patent Full-Text Databases: Searchable patents from 1790 through 1975 by Issue Date, Patent Number, and Current US Classification.
  • Patentscope: search 32.5 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications.
  • TRB's Transportation Research Information Services: includes the TRB Library and the TRB Databases offered by the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics. This site indexes and abstracts transportation research covered in books, journal articles, technical reports. Other media, federal, state, local, and association publications and conference proceedings are also covered. The database extends from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage before 1960.
  • NTIS Bibliogrpahy Databases: Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTIS Bibliographic Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The Database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. On average, NTIS adds over 30,000 new records per year to the Database. Most records include abstracts.
  • Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information: provides free public access to over 316,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.
  • CiteSeerx : provides scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
  • TechXtra: articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing.
  • The National Science Digital Library(NSDL): provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings
  • The Plastics Collection : includes books, periodicals, manuscripts, and over 2,500 plastic objects produced from the late-19th Century to the present day that represent facets of the development of the plastics industry.
  • Exam2jobs.com: Certification test information.
  • ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers: Stories in specifi areas such as aerospace or robotics, technological news with keyword search feature.
  • SPIE Digital Library: Proceedings, journals, ebooks, topic collections from the international society for optics and photonics.
  • Spaceref: Related news stories, press releases, and mission status updates with associated images/video.
  • IOPScience Journals: provide free access to some science journals.
  • SciTech Connect: allows researchers to find and, in many cases, immediately access the results of studies funded by the US Department of Engery (DOE).
  • PLOS ONE(eISSN-1932-6203): is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication featurING reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.
  • Advanced Energy Legislation Tracker: energy legislation bills by state, policy, or keyword search.
  • Computer Desktop Encyclopedia:
    25,000+ IT and consumer electronics definitions
    25,000+ IT and consumer electronics definitions
    25,000+ IT and consumer electronic definition.
  • USGS Energy Resources Program: News and Publications, Toolbox, and Multimedia Library for Oil and Gas, Coal, Oterh Energy, Health and Environment, and etc.
  • TWiT.tv: Nercast Network with Leo LaPorte: Technology related video shows from "Android App Arena", "This Week in Computer Hardware" to "Code 101".
  • AT & T Tech Channel: provides videos on the "past, present and future of the world technology" from the depth of tech history to the latest in Cyber security.
  • Railroads and the Making of Modern America: a digital history collection comprises articles, maps, audio files, images, GIS data, and etc.

About Journals, Magazines & Databases

Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to Serials Solutions for a list of online periodicals.

Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic.

About Books at JSU Library

Circulating Collection

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks of the library under Ciculating Collection.

JSU students and employees can use ALLIES cooperative service, which allow them to walk into a participating library and check out materials using a photo ID or to place online requests and/or check out items from any of the ALLIES libraries (Auburn University, Auburn University at Montgomery, Jacksonville State University, University of Alabama, and University of Alabama at Birmingham).

Reference Collection

Reference books for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th Floor under Call Number T. Most of them are in-library use only. Special permission may be needed for checking out pint reference books. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here.

E-books

JSU library provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these e-books.

About AV Materials, Microforms & Government Documents at JSU Library

AV Materials

Audio-visual (AV) materials can be checked out from the Library AV center located at the basement of the library.

Micoforms:

Family & Consumer Sciences microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).

Government Documents:

Most government documents for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th floor under call number TX. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library, 10th Floor

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, Alabama 36265

Tel: ++1-256 782-5250

Fax: ++1-256-782-5872

hwang@jsu.edu

Blackboard IM ID: hwang1
Website / Blog Page

Also Contact Me for:

  • to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;

  • to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;

  • to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;

  • to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;

  • to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.

Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Find E-Journal by Journal Title (Serials Solutions)

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:

Find Library Books bt Title, Author, Keyword(s), or Call Number

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Video Databases at JSU Library

JSULibrary provides access to the following video databases (ID may be required for accessing):