The Department of Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) offers degree programs including Bachelor of Science degree in Family and Consumer Sciences with a concentration in Child Development, Dietetics, Human Sciences, Merchandising, Hospitality and Culinary Management and Bachelor of Science degree in Education with a teaching field in Family and Consumer Sciences. JSU Library provides resources for curriculum support. The following list provides FCS related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access):
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
JSULibrary provides access to the following video databases (ID may be required for accessing):
Circulating /Reference Books
Books are available for borrowing by students and faculty members. The majority of family and consumer sciences books are shelved on 5th, 6th, 9th, and 10th Floors under the Library of Congress classification call number L, N, Q, R, and T.
Click here for new books that the Library recently purchased. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these E-books. InterLibrary Loan Service is available as well.
Microforms Family & Consumer Sciences microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).
Government Documents Most government documents for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th floor under call number TX. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.
Periodical = Serial a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. A list of home economics periodicals can be accessed here.
Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.
General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.
Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of Library databases can be accessed here.
Normal Working Hours
Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :
Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M.
Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.
Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.
Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library
