Skip to main content
Banner Image

Family and Consumer Sciences: Home

This guide is designed to help you find materials available from the Houston Cole Library for research in family and consumer sciences (formerly called home economics).

Library Subscribed Databases for FCS Research (ID Required)

The Department of Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) offers degree programs including Bachelor of Science degree in Family and Consumer Sciences with a concentration in Child Development, Dietetics, Human Sciences, Merchandising, Hospitality and Culinary Management and  Bachelor of Science degree in Education with a teaching field in Family and Consumer Sciences. JSU Library provides information resources for curriculum support. The following list provides FCS related and interdisciplinary databases (ID may require for access):

FCS Interdisciplinary Databases:

Open Sources for FCS Research (No ID Required)

 

  • HEARTH: A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850-1950.
  • Bentham Open Access: Over 230 peer-reviewed open access journals cover all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine and social science.
  • UC-Press E-book Collection, 1982-2004: includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
  • HighWire: digital dissemination of 1,769 journals, reference works, books and proceedings from Stanford University.
  • Household Products Database: Material Safety Data Sheets allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
  • Exam2jobs.com: certification test information.
  • Conell University Food and Brand Lab: Food psychology and educational information.
  • Saferproducts.gov: publish reports of harm or risk of harm, related to the use of comsumer product. Reports cover all products within the jurisdiction of the Consumer Products Safety Commission.

About Journals, Magazines & Databases

Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to Serials Solutions for a list of online periodicals.

Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic.

About Books at JSU Library

Circulating

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks of the library under Ciculating Collection.

JSU students and employees can use ALLIES cooperative service, which allow them to walk into a participating library and check out materials using a photo ID or to place online requests and/or check out items from any of the ALLIES libraries (Auburn University, Auburn University at Montgomery, Jacksonville State University, University of Alabama, and University of Alabama at Birmingham).

Reference

Reference books for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th Floor under Call Number TX. Most of them are in-library use only. Special permission may be needed for checking out pint reference books. To view a list of FCS reference books, please click here.

E-books

JSU library provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these e-books.

About AV Materials, Microforms & Government Documents at JSU Library

AV Materials

Audio-visual (AV) materials can be checked out from the Library AV center located at the basement of the library.

Micoforms:

Family & Consumer Sciences microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).

Government Documents:

Most government documents for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th floor under call number TX. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library, 10th Floor

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, Alabama 36265

Tel: ++1-256 782-5250

Fax: ++1-256-782-5872

hwang@jsu.edu

Blackboard IM ID: hwang1
Website / Blog Page

What's In This Guide

Also Contact Me for:

  • to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;

  • to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;

  • to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;

  • to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;

  • to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.

Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Find E-Journal by Journal Title (Serials Solutions)

Find e-journals by title or ISSN:

Find Library Books by Title, Keyword(s), Author or Call Number

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Video Databases at JSU Library

JSULibrary provides access to the following video databases (ID may be required for accessing):