Skip to main content

Digital Collections: Home

FEATURED COLLECTIONS

All Digital Collections

Chanticleer
The Chanticleer, the Jacksonville State University student newspaper, is published weekly and has a print circulation of approximately 5,000. The newspaper began publication in 1934, under the name of The Teacola, which changed soon afterward to The Collegian. The newspaper changed to its current name and tabloid-sized format in 1967. The Library has digitized all issues of the newspaper dating back to 1934.

The First Hundred Years
The First Hundred Years: The History of Jacksonville State University, 1883-1983 was written as a brief history of JSU by Effie White Sawyer, who served as secretary to two JSU Presidents. The book was published to commemorate JSU's one-hundredth anniversary in 1983. 

The Harry Strange Collection of Alabamiana
The Harry Strange Collection of Alabamiana is a compilation of more than 200 items, from letters to Congressional documents, relating to early 1800s Alabama history. The Library began digitization of the collection as part of its participation in the Alabama Mosaic digital repository initiative. Many of the materials in the Collection are in fragile condition, and they are currently housed in closed stacks in the Library's Alabama Gallery.

The Historical Photograph Collection
The Library is currently working on the Photographic Services Negative Project. The negatives are historical in nature, representing the work of several university photographers and others from the 1930s onward, and were donated to the Library for digitization by the University's Photographic Services department. Many of these negatives are in poor condition and deteriorating; by digitizing them, the Library hopes to preserve these images and provide access for the future. In addition, the Library also holds its own photograph collection, made up of photographic prints from a variety of time periods and sources. Once the Photographic Services negatives have been digitized, the Library will also be adding its own print photographs to the collection. In addition, Photographic Services hosts its current images (2005 to the present) in its own database.

The Houston Cole Library, 1836-1988
This chapter from the book A Dynamic Tradition: The History of Alabama Academic Libraries from Their Establishment through 1988, edited by Vicki L. Gregory, was authored by Thomas J. Freeman and Martha Merrill, former Library faculty. The chapter recounts the history of the Library from 1836 through 1988, covering the institution, the collection, the librarians, and the physical facilities.

Jacksonville Republican
The Jacksonville Republican, one of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama, first appeared as a weekly paper in January of 1837, published by J.F. Grant. The paper was in almost continuous publication (with a brief month-long cessation at the end of the Civil War) in various formats until it ceased permanently in 1904. The Library's digital archives of the Republican range from 1837 to December 1895.

The Legacy of William A. Meehan: 1968-2015
Produced by the Offices of Marketing and Communications and Public Relations and authored and illustrated by various JSU personnel, this biography chronicles "the journey of the 11th President of Jacksonville State University" from student to faculty member to president. The work includes insights into Dr. William A. Meehan's university career, as well as his family and community life.

The Life and Times of Houston Cole
This biography was commissioned, produced, and distributed under the auspices of the Friends of the Houston Cole Library. Authored by various former JSU faculty and administrators, as well as Dr. Cole's nephew, this biography chronicles the life of the former JSU president for which the Library is named.

Mr. X and Mr. Y: Source Materials
This collection of notes, photographs, and newspaper clippings includes some of the source materials used by Donald Brown (b. 1936) for his book, Mr. X and Mr. Y. Mr. Brown was a reporter for the Birmingham News who covered the so-called "torso murders" -- the murders of brothers Emmett and Lee Harper, whose dismembered bodies were found in Etowah and St. Clair counties in Alabama in June 1959. A 31-year-old Calhoun County woman, Viola Hyatt, confessed to the murders, was tried, convicted, and sentenced to Tutwiler prison.

Mimosa 
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.

The Oral History Collection
The Library's Oral History Collection grew out of a project assigned by a JSU history faculty member to her American History (HY202) students. Some of the interviews in the Collection were also part of a similar project this same professor conducted at Reinhardt College in Waleska, Georgia. The project consisted of student interviews with individuals who lived through some pivotal era of U.S. History -- the interviewees discuss subjects such as the Great Depression, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and much more. The Collection consists of approximately 250 interviews with accompanying print materials. The digitized interviews are available for listening in MP3 format, with the print materials in PDF.

The Purple and White
The Purple and White is a monthly JSU student publication from the Edwardian period. The Library holds issues (with some gaps) from 1904-1914. The publication is varied, including newsletter information, literary works (poetry, short stories, reviews), as well as the types of information that would later be found in yearbooks, such as student lists and athletics coverage.

Teacola 
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.

The First Hundred Years
The First Hundred Years: The History of Jacksonville State University, 1883-1983 was written as a brief history of JSU by Effie White Sawyer, who served as secretary to two JSU Presidents. The book was published to commemorate JSU's one-hundredth anniversary in 1983. 

The Harry Strange Collection of Alabamiana
The Harry Strange Collection of Alabamiana is a compilation of more than 200 items, from letters to Congressional documents, relating to early 1800s Alabama history. The Library began digitization of the collection as part of its participation in the Alabama Mosaic digital repository initiative. Many of the materials in the Collection are in fragile condition, and they are currently housed in closed stacks in the Library's Alabama Gallery.

The Historical Photograph Collection
The Library is currently working on the Photographic Services Negative Project. The negatives are historical in nature, representing the work of several university photographers and others from the 1930s onward, and were donated to the Library for digitization by the University's Photographic Services department. Many of these negatives are in poor condition and deteriorating; by digitizing them, the Library hopes to preserve these images and provide access for the future. In addition, the Library also holds its own photograph collection, made up of photographic prints from a variety of time periods and sources. Once the Photographic Services negatives have been digitized, the Library will also be adding its own print photographs to the collection. In addition, Photographic Services hosts its current images (2005 to the present) in its own database.

The Houston Cole Library, 1836-1988
This chapter from the book A Dynamic Tradition: The History of Alabama Academic Libraries from Their Establishment through 1988, edited by Vicki L. Gregory, was authored by Thomas J. Freeman and Martha Merrill, former Library faculty. The chapter recounts the history of the Library from 1836 through 1988, covering the institution, the collection, the librarians, and the physical facilities.

The Legacy of William A. Meehan: 1968-2015
Produced by the Offices of Marketing and Communications and Public Relations and authored and illustrated by various JSU personnel, this biography chronicles "the journey of the 11th President of Jacksonville State University" from student to faculty member to president. The work includes insights into Dr. William A. Meehan's university career, as well as his family and community life.

The Life and Times of Houston Cole
This biography was commissioned, produced, and distributed under the auspices of the Friends of the Houston Cole Library. Authored by various former JSU faculty and administrators, as well as Dr. Cole's nephew, this biography chronicles the life of the former JSU president for which the Library is named.

Mr. X and Mr. Y: Source Materials
This collection of notes, photographs, and newspaper clippings includes some of the source materials used by Donald Brown (b. 1936) for his book, Mr. X and Mr. Y. Mr. Brown was a reporter for the Birmingham News who covered the so-called "torso murders" -- the murders of brothers Emmett and Lee Harper, whose dismembered bodies were found in Etowah and St. Clair counties in Alabama in June 1959. A 31-year-old Calhoun County woman, Viola Hyatt, confessed to the murders, was tried, convicted, and sentenced to Tutwiler prison.

The Oral History Collection
The Library's Oral History Collection grew out of a project assigned by a JSU history faculty member to her American History (HY202) students. Some of the interviews in the Collection were also part of a similar project this same professor conducted at Reinhardt College in Waleska, Georgia. The project consisted of student interviews with individuals who lived through some pivotal era of U.S. History -- the interviewees discuss subjects such as the Great Depression, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and much more. The Collection consists of approximately 250 interviews with accompanying print materials. The digitized interviews are available for listening in MP3 format, with the print materials in PDF.

Chanticleer
The Chanticleer, the Jacksonville State University student newspaper, is published weekly and has a print circulation of approximately 5,000. The newspaper began publication in 1934, under the name of The Teacola, which changed soon afterward to The Collegian. The newspaper changed to its current name and tabloid-sized format in 1967. The Library has digitized all issues of the newspaper dating back to 1934.

Jacksonville Republican
The Jacksonville Republican, one of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama, first appeared as a weekly paper in January of 1837, published by J.F. Grant. The paper was in almost continuous publication (with a brief month-long cessation at the end of the Civil War) in various formats until it ceased permanently in 1904. The Library's digital archives of the Republican range from 1837 to December 1895.

The Purple and White
The Purple and White is a monthly JSU student publication from the Edwardian period. The Library holds issues (with some gaps) from 1904-1914. The publication is varied, including newsletter information, literary works (poetry, short stories, reviews), as well as the types of information that would later be found in yearbooks, such as student lists and athletics coverage.

Teacola & Mimosa
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.

Loading

Recently Added

Archival Collections

Loading

 

Yearbooks 

Loading

 

Photos

Loading

 

Purple and White

Loading