Military & Naval Sciences: Library Resources & Course Guides

The Department of Military Science is a cooperative venture between the United States Army and Jacksonville State University. The program provides a Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) program with a mission of commissioning students as officers in the Army upon completion of a baccalaureate degree or sufficient progress on a master’s degree. Satisfactory completion of the program may lead to a minor in Military Science.

Circulating /Reference Collection: Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. They are shelved on the stacks on 10th Floor of the Library under under Call Number U & V:

Click here for new books that the Library recently purchased. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these E-books. InterLibrary Loan Service is available as well.

Micoforms: Microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).

Government Documents: Most government documents for family and consumer sciences are located on 10th floor under call number U & V. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Periodical = Serial: a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. JSU students and faculty can connect to a list of online periodicals here.

Scholarly Journals: are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines: have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of JSU databases can be accessed here.

• to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;
• to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;
• to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;
• to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;
• to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.        Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library