Skip to main content

Computer Technology: Library Resources & Course Guides

Computer technology: technical writing, security, networking, web design, and etc.

JSU Library Subscribed Databases for Computer Technology (ID required for access):

Library Video Dtabases

OER (Open educational resources & adopted textbooks)

Technical Writing:

  • O'Reilly Open Books: Links to English-Language books , Out-of-Print books, and etc.
  • Purdue Online Writing Lab: information on General Writing, Research and Citation, Subject-Specific Writing, and etc.
  • EasyBib: an intuitive information literacy platform that provides citation, note taking, and research tools that are easy-to-use and educational. EasyBib is not only accurate, fast, and comprehensive, but helps educators teach and students learn how to become effective and organized researchers.

Computer Networks/Web services:

  • An Introduction to Computer Networks (By Peter L Dordal): a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises. It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator.

 

For more general open access resources, please see Open Educational Resources (OER) page.

About Collections at JSU Library

Circulating / Reference Collection

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. The majority of Technical writing, Computer networks, and Web services are shelved on 10th Floor of the Library under under Call Number T. Detailed call number range according to the Library Congress Classification are:

T 11  Technical Writing TK 5105.5      Computer networks   TK 5105.888    Web services

Reference books are in-library use only. Special permission may be needed for checking out print reference books. To view a list of technology reference books, please click here. JSU library also provides access to electronic books. ID may require for off-campus accessing these E-books.  InterLibrary Loan Service is also available.

Microforms

Applied Engineering and Technology microforms (mainly microfiches and microfilms) are located on 10th floor. They are in-library use only. Microforms can be viewed and printed out by using the microform reader machines (located on 2nd floor).

Government Documents

Most government documents are located on 10th floor under call number TK5105. They are integrated into the regular agricultural collection. Some pamphlets can be found in the Vertical File cabinets on 2nd floor under SuDoc Classification System. For more information on government documents, please click here.

Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. Ceramics related periodicals can be found here, film related journals can be found here, and photography related journals can be found here.

Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of Library databases can be accessed here.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang's picture
Hanrong Wang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library, 10th Floor

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, Alabama 36265

Tel: ++1-256 782-5250

Fax: ++1-256-782-5872

hwang@jsu.edu

Also Contact Me:

  • to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;
  • to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;
  • to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;
  • to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;
  • to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.     Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Course/Subject Guides

  • Research Foundations Tutorial & Quiz: fundamental research skills, covers the selection of appropriate information sources; effective searching of library databases and the Internet; and the location, evaluation and citation of information.

Search Options

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:  

 

Advanced Search

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results