This page provides a list of databases for searching for articles in scholarly journals and other periodicals. A brief description is provided for each database to help researchers choose the most appropriate one for their purpose. The advantages and disadvantages of different levels of database searching also are discussed,
There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones. You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist using the contact information under the Home tab of this Guide.
NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.
If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.
Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).
To cross-search EBSCOhost, Gale/Cengage, or JSTOR databases:
1) Go to the library's Electronic Resources page (http://www.jsu.edu/library/resources/index.html)
2) Scroll down to Frequently Used Resources
3) Select the database vendor you wish to cross-search
4) Follow instructions provided by the vendor
To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various online journals or digitized, electronic versions of books. For information on Black American authors, you may want to start with the following databases. For additional databases, redirect to the Supplemental Databases tab of the LibGuide for English Language and Literature: Electronic Databases by Subject.
American Literature has been regarded since its inception as the preeminent periodical in its field. Each issue contains articles covering the works of several American authors—from colonial to contemporary—as well as an extensive book review section; a “Brief Mention” section offering citations of new editions and reprints, collections, anthologies, and other professional books; and an “Announcements” section that keeps readers up-to-date on prizes, competitions, conferences, grants, and publishing opportunities.
Print Per PS1.A6
|from 03/01/1929 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier|
|from 03/01/1929 to 1 year ago in Literary Reference Center Plus|
|from 03/01/1929 to 12/31/1999 in JSTOR|
|from 09/01/1997 to 03/31/2000 in ProQuest Research Library|
|from 03/01/2000 to present in Duke University Press|
The Southern Literary Journal, a peer-reviewed journal edited by Fred Hobson and Minrose Gwin, publishes scholarly articles on the literature of the American South and reviews of critical works on southern literature and culture.
Print Per PS261.S527
|from 10/01/1968 to 10/31/2008 in JSTOR|
|from 03/01/1969 to 1 year ago in Academic OneFile|
|from 03/01/1969 to 1 year ago in Biography In Context|
|from 03/01/1969 to 1 year ago in InfoTrac Student Edition|
|from 03/01/1980 to 1 year ago in Expanded Academic ASAP|
|from 03/01/1980 to 1 year ago in General OneFile|
|from 03/01/1993 to present in Academic Search Premier|
|from 03/01/1993 to present in Literary Reference Center Plus|
|from 10/01/1997 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Research Library|
|from 04/15/1998 to present in Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)|
|from 04/15/1998 to present in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)|
The Southern Review publishes fiction, poetry, critical essays, interviews, book reviews, and excerpts from novels in progress, with emphasis on contemporary literature in the United States and abroad. Poems and fiction are selected with careful attention to craftsmanship and technique and to the seriousness of the subject matter. Although willing to publish experimental writing that appears to have a valid artistic purpose, The Southern Review avoids extremism and sensationalism. Critical essays and book reviews exhibit a thoughtful and sometimes severe awareness of the necessity of literary standards in our time. Art reproductions—color or black and white—of a wide range—paintings, photography, prints, sculpture—are selected on the basis of engaging content and style.
Print Per AP2.S8555
|from 01/01/1990 to present in Academic Search Premier|
|from 01/01/1990 to present in Literary Reference Center Plus|
|from 01/01/1990 to present in MasterFILE Premier|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in Academic OneFile|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in Biography In Context|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in Expanded Academic ASAP|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in General OneFile|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in General Reference Center Gold|
|from 09/01/1992 to present in InfoTrac Student Edition|
|from 01/01/1994 to present in ProQuest Research Library|
|from 01/15/1995 to present in Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)|
|from 01/15/1995 to present in OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)|
American Literary Scholarship features bibliographic essays arranged by writer and time period, from pre-1800 to the present, and acts as a “systematic evaluative guide to current published studies of American literature” (ALA Booklist). Each volume of American Literary Scholarship covers content from two years previous to the volume.
Print: Ref PS3.A47
from 01/01/2000 to present in Duke University Press
[ALS actually is a periodical, an annual; but Houston Cole Library treats annuals as books rather than periodicals, so this one is cataloged and shelved as a reference book.]
Levels of electronic database searching
Electronic databases may be searched on three levels:
Advantages of searching a native (single) database
Disadvantages of searching a native database
Advantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Disadvantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider
Advantages of Gemfinder Discovery Search
Disadvantages of Gemfinder Discovery Search