Skip to main content

Language and Literature: Researching Poems: Find Articles

This Library Guide offers assistance in writing research papers on poems. It provides information on poetry as a literary genre, important elements of poetry, reading poetry, and other information.

Page Overview

This page provides a list of databases for searching for articles in scholarly journals and other periodicals.  A brief description is provided for each database to help researchers choose the most appropriate one for their purpose.  The advantages and disadvantages of different levels of database searching also are discussed,

Electronic Resources

There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones.  You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist using the contact information under the Home tab of this Guide.

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results

Who has access?

If you are faculty, staff, or currently enrolled in classes at Jacksonville State University, you can access the Library's electronic resources from your home computer.

Where can I access these resources?

Access is granted through an authentication application called EZproxy. It is very easy to use, and it allows our users to access our resources from any browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, etc.) or service provider (AOL, Mindspring, etc.).

How Do I Access These Resources?

Access is granted through the same credentials you use for MyJSU.  When you select any of our electronic resources, databases or journals, you will be routed to MyJSU.

MyJSU Login Screenshot

It is important to note that users will still be verified through the Library's system, so if there is a problem with your record in the Library’s System, you will be prompted to contact us at 256.782.5758 or 1-800-231-5291.

Electronic Databases

Levels of Database Searching

Electronic databases may be searched on three levels: singly (native database);in groups, provided they all are products of the same vendor (database cluster); Discovery Search, which can simul-search multiple databases across different vendor platforms and also will harvest books and occasionally an internet site in its search results). 

Advantages of searching a native (single) database:

  • Smaller, and therefore more manageable, number of search results
  • Facilitates more precise subject focusing, particularly if the database is discipline-specific like America History and Life, ERIC, or the MLA International Bibliography

Disadvantages of searching a native database:

  • Fewer search results offering abstracts and full text, particularly if the database is discipline-specific like America History and LifeERIC, or the MLA International Bibliography
  • Greater possibility of missing useful articles because they are not published in a journal covered by the database being searched

Advantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider:

  • more journals included in the search
  • larger number of search results
  • more article abstracts
  • more full text

Disadvantages of simul-searching multiple databases by provider:

  • larger number of search results to evaluate
  • some records will be repeated in the search results

Link for simul-searching EBSCOhost databases:

http://web.a.ebscohost.com.lib-proxy.jsu.edu/ehost/search/selectdb?vid=0&sid=e8c4f4ee-3d16-49bd-b419-eb8e5cd886a8%40sessionmgr4007

Link for simul-searching Gale databases:

http://go.galegroup.com.lib-proxy.jsu.edu/ps/infomark.do?source=gale&page=AdvancedSearch&userGroupName=jack26672&prodId=GPS&action=interpret&infoPage=infoMarkPage&type=static&version=1.0&authCount=1&u=jack26672

Library database provider link:

http://www.jsu.edu/library/resources/index.html

Advantages of Discovery Search:

  • can simul-search databases provided by multiple vendors 
  • includes more books in search results than native databases do
  • useful for finding information on very obscure topics
  • useful for finding a native database launch point when the location of needed information is unknown

Disadvantages of Discovery Search:

  • not well suited for searching broad, heavily-researched topics (e.g., George Washington) 
  • number of search results harvested can be overwhelming
  • results harvested may have little or no relevance to the search performed
  • to both reduce results and improve relevance, may require more sophisticated search techniques than needed for native databases