Art & Design Digital Galleries
The JSU Department of Art & Design's Gallery, located in Hammond Hall, holds a variety events which showcase the art and creative work of JSU faculty, students, and outside artists. In addition to scheduled shows, the Gallery also holds a collection of permanent pieces. Digital images of these pieces have been created and can be viewed in this collection.
Chanticleer
The Chanticleer, the Jacksonville State University student newspaper, is published weekly and has a print circulation of approximately 5,000. The newspaper began publication in 1934, under the name of The Teacola, which changed soon afterward to The Collegian. The newspaper changed to its current name and tabloid-sized format in 1967. The Library has digitized all issues of the newspaper dating back to 1934.
Edwardian Scores Collection
This collection contains over 70 musical scores, both popular and classical. All date from the early 20th Century (1902-1918), with the majority being published by The Columbian Conservatory of Music.
The First Hundred Years
The First Hundred Years: The History of Jacksonville State University, 1883-1983 was written as a brief history of JSU by Effie White Sawyer, who served as secretary to two JSU Presidents. The book was published to commemorate JSU's one-hundredth anniversary in 1983. An accompanying video (volume 1, volume 2, and volume 3) of interviews regarding JSU history was also created, along with a Centennial Salute video.
Historic Jacksonville
This work was published by the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce and the United Daughters of the Confederacy to celebrate the history of Jacksonville at the semi-centennial (1902-1952) of the founding of the General John H. Forney Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. Written by Annie Rowan Forney Daugette, daughter of a Civil War veteran and wife of State Normal School president C.W. Daugette, it contains information primarily on the historic homes of Jacksonville and those who built and lived in them, as well as other points of interest (e.g., the Public Square, the First Baptist Church, the State Normal School, etc.). The photographs were made by Edith Schoonmaker Wilson.
The Historical Image Collection
The Library is currently working on the Photographic Services Negative Project. The negatives are historical in nature, representing the work of several university photographers and others from the 1930s onward, and were donated to the Library for digitization by the University's Photographic Services department. Many of these negatives are in poor condition and deteriorating; by digitizing them, the Library hopes to preserve these images and provide access for the future. In addition, the Library also holds its own photograph collection, made up of photographic prints from a variety of time periods and sources. Many of these print photographs have been digitized and added to the Historical Images Collection, with digitization efforts ongoing. In addition, Photographic Services hosts its current images (2005 to the present) in its own database.
The Houston Cole Library, 1836-1988
This chapter from the book A Dynamic Tradition: The History of Alabama Academic Libraries from Their Establishment through 1988, edited by Vicki L. Gregory, was authored by Thomas J. Freeman and Martha Merrill, former Library faculty. The chapter recounts the history of the Library from 1836 through 1988, covering the institution, the collection, the librarians, and the physical facilities.
International House Collection
The Jones International House Program began in 1946 with four students from France. There are now 40 members of the program — 20 American students and 20 internationals. Each international student is from a different country and is roomed with an American student. The International House hosts an annual United Nations Day Tea, a multi-cultural event where students present and perform, showcasing the value of the International House Program.
Jacksonville Republican
The Jacksonville Republican, one of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama, first appeared as a weekly paper in January of 1837, published by J.F. Grant. The paper was in almost continuous publication (with a brief month-long cessation at the end of the Civil War) in various formats until it ceased permanently in 1904. The Library's digital archives of the Republican range from 1837 to December 1895.
John Henry Caldwell Papers
John Henry Caldwell (1826-1902) was a prominent member of Jacksonville, Alabama society -- a teacher, attorney, newspaper editor, lieutenant colonel during the Civil War, trustee for the University of Alabama, member of the Alabama House of Representatives, and United States Congressman. The bulk of the materials in this collection are made up of personal correspondence dating from 1848-1912, written by and concerning Caldwell, his wife, Mary Darthula Greer Caldwell, their children and immediate family and friends. Later generations of the family added in correspondence and genealogical research-related items in the 1930s-1960s, and an incomplete genealogical study was compiled in 1991.
The Legacy of William A. Meehan: 1968-2015
Produced by the Offices of Marketing and Communications and Public Relations and authored and illustrated by various JSU personnel, this biography chronicles "the journey of the 11th President of Jacksonville State University" from student to faculty member to president. The work includes insights into Dr. William A. Meehan's university career, as well as his family and community life.
The Life and Times of Houston Cole
This biography was commissioned, produced, and distributed under the auspices of the Friends of the Houston Cole Library. Authored by various former JSU faculty and administrators, as well as Dr. Cole's nephew, this biography chronicles the life of the former JSU president for which the Library is named.
Marie Louise Stevens Student Scrapbook
This scrapbook and photo album were compiled by Marie Louise Stevens while she was enrolled as a student at Jacksonville State Teachers College. Ms. Stevens began compiling the scrapbook circa 1939 during her first year at Jacksonville State Teachers College. She dropped out and enrolled in the WAC and served during World War II. She returned to JSTC and received her degree circa 1948.
Mimosa
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.
Minute Book, State Normal School, Jacksonville, Ala.
This handwritten ledger contains meeting minutes from the Jacksonville State Normal School's Board of Directors. This documentation of the earliest days of what would become JSU begins in August 1887 and concludes in June 1895.
Morgan Literary Society Membership Roster & Minute Book
This volume contains membership rosters for the (John Tyler) Morgan Literary Society, which held its meetings and debates at the State Normal School, later Jacksonville State University. Also included are meeting minutes, assorted membership cards, and random correspondence (e.g., an invitation for debate from the Calhoun Literary Society). The volume spans the years 1912-1916. Portraits of Morgan Literary Society members can be found in the Historical Image Collection.
Mr. X and Mr. Y: Source Materials
This collection of notes, photographs, and newspaper clippings includes some of the source materials used by Donald Brown (b. 1936) for his book, Mr. X and Mr. Y. Mr. Brown was a reporter for the Birmingham News who covered the so-called "torso murders" -- the murders of brothers Emmett and Lee Harper, whose dismembered bodies were found in Etowah and St. Clair counties in Alabama in June 1959. A 31-year-old Calhoun County woman, Viola Hyatt, confessed to the murders, was tried, convicted, and sentenced to Tutwiler prison.
The Oral History Collection
The Library's Oral History Collection grew out of a project assigned by a JSU history faculty member to her American History (HY202) students. Some of the interviews in the Collection were also part of a similar project this same professor conducted at Reinhardt College in Waleska, Georgia. The project consisted of student interviews with individuals who lived through some pivotal era of U.S. History -- the interviewees discuss subjects such as the Great Depression, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and much more. The Collection consists of approximately 250 interviews with accompanying print materials. The digitized interviews are available for listening in MP3 format, with the print materials in PDF.
The Pertelote
The Pertelote is a literary magazine published by JSU students. Some issues were produced as supplements to the Chanticleer (the JSU student newspaper). The Pertelote includes student artworks as well as short stories, plays, poems, and other student literary works. The Library holds issues from the 1970s-1980s.
The Purple and White
The Purple and White is a monthly JSU student publication from the Edwardian period. The Library holds issues (with some gaps) from 1904-1914. The publication is varied, including newsletter information, literary works (poetry, short stories, reviews), as well as the types of information that would later be found in yearbooks, such as student lists and athletics coverage.
School Day Treasures of Happy Memories: Iris Mildred Sellers O'Rear Scrapbook
This scrapbook was compiled by Iris Mildred Sellers O'Rear and contains memorabilia collected while she was enrolled as a student at Jacksonville State Teachers College from 1928-1930, and later. Biographical information about Iris Sellers may be found in the book Iron Butterfly by Terry Sellers, Jr. (2008), pp. 102-106. The scrapbook contains photographs, illustrations, poems, newspaper clippings, invitations, announcement flyers, postcards, letters, pins, dried flowers, napkins, etc.
The Shakespeare Project
The Shakespeare Project was established in 2017 to enhance the understanding of performing arts and literature by presenting free, professional productions of classic works, including Shakespeare. The Library has archived audio performances of Shakespeare's plays, along with study guides and other materials for teaching these plays.
Student Research Symposium
Established in 1995, the JSU Student Symposium provides a forum to publicly display and acknowledge the best work of JSU's students. "Best of School" awards are given, along with other commendations, such as the Houston Cole Library Award for Research Excellence. Video of the students' presentations along with accompanying materials is archived by the Library.
Teacola
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.
Theatre & Film Performance Archive
JSU's Department of Theatre and Film holds a variety of performances in the Stone Center Theatre and other venues. This archive consists primarily of materials created for these productions and donated to the Library by the Department of Theatre and Film. The materials include photographs, slides, playbills, and posters. While some materials date back to the 1940s, the bulk of the collection is from the 1970s onward, and the Library updates the archive with new productions periodically. The Library has supplemented the Theatre and Film materials with related images from the Photographic Services Negative Project and the Library's own Historical Image Collection.
The Library collaborates with other units, both on and off-campus, in order to create, preserve, and enhance access to digital collections of relevance to the University and local community.
Art & Design Digital Galleries
The JSU Department of Art & Design's Gallery, located in Hammond Hall, holds a variety events which showcase the art and creative work of JSU faculty, students, and outside artists. In addition to scheduled shows, the Gallery also holds a collection of permanent pieces. Digital images of these pieces have been created and can be viewed in this collection.
International House Collection
The Jones International House Program began in 1946 with four students from France. There are now 40 members of the program — 20 American students and 20 internationals. Each international student is from a different country and is roomed with an American student. The International House hosts an annual United Nations Day Tea, a multi-cultural event where students present and perform, showcasing the value of the International House Program.
The Shakespeare Project
The Shakespeare Project was established in 2017 to enhance the understanding of performing arts and literature by presenting free, professional productions of classic works, including Shakespeare. The Library has archived audio performances of Shakespeare's plays, along with study guides and other materials for teaching these plays.
Student Research Symposium
Established in 1995, the JSU Student Symposium provides a forum to publicly display and acknowledge the best work of JSU's students. "Best of School" awards are given, along with other commendations, such as the Houston Cole Library Award for Research Excellence. Video of the students' presentations along with accompanying materials is archived by the Library.
Theatre & Film Performance Archive
JSU's Department of Theatre and Film holds a variety of performances in the Stone Center Theatre and other venues. This archive consists primarily of materials created for these productions and donated to the Library by the Department of Theatre and Film. The materials include photographs, slides, playbills, and posters. While some materials date back to the 1940s, the bulk of the collection is from the 1970s onward, and the Library updates the archive with new productions periodically. The Library has supplemented the Theatre and Film materials with related images from the Photographic Services Negative Project and the Library's own Historical Image Collection.
Edwardian Scores Collection
This collection contains over 70 musical scores, both popular and classical. All date from the early 20th Century (1902-1918), with the majority being published by The Columbian Conservatory of Music.
The First Hundred Years
The First Hundred Years: The History of Jacksonville State University, 1883-1983 was written as a brief history of JSU by Effie White Sawyer, who served as secretary to two JSU Presidents. The book was published to commemorate JSU's one-hundredth anniversary in 1983. An accompanying video (volume 1, volume 2, and volume 3) of interviews regarding JSU history was also created, along with a Centennial Salute video.
Historic Jacksonville
This work was published by the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce and the United Daughters of the Confederacy to celebrate the history of Jacksonville at the semi-centennial (1902-1952) of the founding of the General John H. Forney Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. Written by Annie Forney Daugette, daughter of a Civil War veteran and wife of State Normal School president C.W. Daugette, it contains information primarily on the historic homes of Jacksonville and those who built and lived in them, as well as other points of interest (e.g., the Public Square, the First Baptist Church, the State Normal School, etc.). The photographs were made by Edith Schoonmaker Wilson.
The Historical Image Collection
The Library is currently working on the Photographic Services Negative Project. The negatives are historical in nature, representing the work of several university photographers and others from the 1930s onward, and were donated to the Library for digitization by the University's Photographic Services department. Many of these negatives are in poor condition and deteriorating; by digitizing them, the Library hopes to preserve these images and provide access for the future. In addition, the Library also holds its own photograph collection, made up of photographic prints from a variety of time periods and sources. Many of these print photographs have been digitized and added to the Historical Images Collection, with digitization efforts ongoing. In addition, Photographic Services hosts its current images (2005 to the present) in its own database.
The Houston Cole Library, 1836-1988
This chapter from the book A Dynamic Tradition: The History of Alabama Academic Libraries from Their Establishment through 1988, edited by Vicki L. Gregory, was authored by Thomas J. Freeman and Martha Merrill, former Library faculty. The chapter recounts the history of the Library from 1836 through 1988, covering the institution, the collection, the librarians, and the physical facilities.
International House Collection
The Jones International House Program began in 1946 with four students from France. There are now 40 members of the program — 20 American students and 20 internationals. Each international student is from a different country and is roomed with an American student. The International House hosts an annual United Nations Day Tea, a multi-cultural event where students present and perform, showcasing the value of the International House Program.
Jacksonville Republican
The Jacksonville Republican, one of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama, first appeared as a weekly paper in January of 1837, published by J.F. Grant. The paper was in almost continuous publication (with a brief month-long cessation at the end of the Civil War) in various formats until it ceased permanently in 1904. The Library's digital archives of the Republican range from 1837 to December 1895.
John Henry Caldwell Papers
John Henry Caldwell (1826-1902) was a prominent member of Jacksonville, Alabama society -- a teacher, attorney, newspaper editor, lieutenant colonel during the Civil War, trustee for the University of Alabama, member of the Alabama House of Representatives, and United States Congressman. The bulk of the materials in this collection are made up of personal correspondence dating from 1848-1912, written by and concerning Caldwell, his wife, Mary Darthula Greer Caldwell, their children and immediate family and friends. Later generations of the family added in correspondence and genealogical research-related items in the 1930s-1960s, and an incomplete genealogical study was compiled in 1991.
The Legacy of William A. Meehan: 1968-2015
Produced by the Offices of Marketing and Communications and Public Relations and authored and illustrated by various JSU personnel, this biography chronicles "the journey of the 11th President of Jacksonville State University" from student to faculty member to president. The work includes insights into Dr. William A. Meehan's university career, as well as his family and community life.
The Life and Times of Houston Cole
This biography was commissioned, produced, and distributed under the auspices of the Friends of the Houston Cole Library. Authored by various former JSU faculty and administrators, as well as Dr. Cole's nephew, this biography chronicles the life of the former JSU president for which the Library is named.
Marie Louise Stevens Student Scrapbook
This scrapbook and photo album were compiled by Marie Louise Stevens while she was enrolled as a student at Jacksonville State Teachers College. Ms. Stevens began compiling the scrapbook circa 1939 during her first year at Jacksonville State Teachers College. She dropped out and enrolled in the WAC and served during World War II. She returned to JSTC and received her degree circa 1948.
Minute Book, State Normal School, Jacksonville, Ala.
This handwritten ledger contains meeting minutes from the Jacksonville State Normal School's Board of Directors. This documentation of the earliest days of what would become JSU begins in August 1887 and concludes in June 1895.
Morgan Literary Society Membership Roster & Minute Book
This volume contains membership rosters for the (John Tyler) Morgan Literary Society, which held its meetings and debates at the State Normal School, later Jacksonville State University. Also included are meeting minutes, assorted membership cards, and random correspondence (e.g., an invitation for debate from the Calhoun Literary Society). The volume spans the years 1912-1916. Portraits of Morgan Literary Society members can be found in the Historical Image Collection.
Mr. X and Mr. Y: Source Materials
This collection of notes, photographs, and newspaper clippings includes some of the source materials used by Donald Brown (b. 1936) for his book, Mr. X and Mr. Y. Mr. Brown was a reporter for the Birmingham News who covered the so-called "torso murders" -- the murders of brothers Emmett and Lee Harper, whose dismembered bodies were found in Etowah and St. Clair counties in Alabama in June 1959. A 31-year-old Calhoun County woman, Viola Hyatt, confessed to the murders, was tried, convicted, and sentenced to Tutwiler prison.
The Oral History Collection
The Library's Oral History Collection grew out of a project assigned by a JSU history faculty member to her American History (HY202) students. Some of the interviews in the Collection were also part of a similar project this same professor conducted at Reinhardt College in Waleska, Georgia. The project consisted of student interviews with individuals who lived through some pivotal era of U.S. History -- the interviewees discuss subjects such as the Great Depression, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and much more. The Collection consists of approximately 250 interviews with accompanying print materials. The digitized interviews are available for listening in MP3 format, with the print materials in PDF.
The Pertelote
The Pertelote is a literary magazine published by JSU students. Some issues were produced as supplements to the Chanticleer (the JSU student newspaper). The Pertelote includes student artworks as well as short stories, plays, poems, and other student literary works. The Library holds issues from the 1970s-1980s.
School Day Treasures of Happy Memories: Iris Mildred Sellers O'Rear Scrapbook
This scrapbook was compiled by Iris Mildred Sellers O'Rear and contains memorabilia collected while she was enrolled as a student at Jacksonville State Teachers College from 1928-1930, and later. Biographical information about Iris Sellers may be found in the book Iron Butterfly by Terry Sellers, Jr. (2008), pp. 102-106. The scrapbook contains photographs, illustrations, poems, newspaper clippings, invitations, announcement flyers, postcards, letters, pins, dried flowers, napkins, etc.
Theatre & Film Performance Archive
JSU's Department of Theatre and Film holds a variety of performances in the Stone Center Theatre and other venues. This archive consists primarily of materials created for these productions and donated to the Library by the Department of Theatre and Film. The materials include photographs, slides, playbills, and posters. While some materials date back to the 1940s, the bulk of the collection is from the 1970s onward, and the Library updates the archive with new productions periodically. The Library has supplemented the Theatre and Film materials with related images from the Photographic Services Negative Project and the Library's own Historical Image Collection.
Chanticleer
The Chanticleer, the Jacksonville State University student newspaper, is published weekly and has a print circulation of approximately 5,000. The newspaper began publication in 1934, under the name of The Teacola, which changed soon afterward to The Collegian. The newspaper changed to its current name and tabloid-sized format in 1967. The Library has digitized all issues of the newspaper dating back to 1934.
Jacksonville Republican
The Jacksonville Republican, one of the oldest newspapers in Northeast Alabama, first appeared as a weekly paper in January of 1837, published by J.F. Grant. The paper was in almost continuous publication (with a brief month-long cessation at the end of the Civil War) in various formats until it ceased permanently in 1904. The Library's digital archives of the Republican range from 1837 to December 1895.
The Purple and White
The Purple and White is a monthly JSU student publication from the Edwardian period. The Library holds issues (with some gaps) from 1904-1914. The publication is varied, including newsletter information, literary works (poetry, short stories, reviews), as well as the types of information that would later be found in yearbooks, such as student lists and athletics coverage.
Teacola & Mimosa
The JSU Yearbook Collection spans the years from 1926 to the present. The publication began as the Teacola (sometimes spelled "Teacoala"), a name later used by the University's student newspaper. In 1933, the title of the yearbooks changed to the Mimosa. Preceding and during World War II, no yearbooks were published, so there are no volumes available from 1934-1946.
Historical Image Collection
Alabama History & Culture
University History