LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resources: Find Journal Articles

Business and Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

4th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-5244
256-782-5872
kwestbrooks1@jsu.edu

Special Note

NOTE: Due to license agreements, some journals and/or specific issues may not be available in full-text.

Key Databases

Academic OneFile
Database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
A Gale Cengage database that includes Agriculture Collection, Communication & Mass Media Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
CQ Press Library
American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.
Multi-search option for CQ Researcher or CQ Weekly.
CQ Researcher
Most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication.
A CQ Press database.

Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Gale Academic OneFile Select
- This link opens in a new window
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.
General OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Formerly InfoTrac OneFile.
Global Issues in Context
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
A Gale Cengage database
JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MasterFILE Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law.
An EBSCOhost database
Opposing Viewpoints
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Points of View Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
A ProQuest database.
Social Science Database
Anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more provided by ProQuest.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Social Sciences Full Text
Access to this content is through OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
An EBSCOhost database

LGBTQ+ Resources: Find Journal Articles

Business and Social Sciences Librarian

Special Note

Key Databases

How Do I Access These Resources?

Electronic Resources

Find Journal(s)