LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resources: Find Books

Library Catalog Basic Search

Search for Books

Start with these Databases to Locate Books

To find books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities.
Individual titles are accessible through the Library Catalog.
Ebook Central
Search for and read full-text e-books online. Over 100,000 titles available in psychology, business, and education. Full-text available.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Books through EBSCOhost
An EBSCOhost product
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
- This link opens in a new window
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
A Gale Cengage database | some titles provided by the AVL

Internet Archive
Free digital resources: movies, music, books, etc.

Oxford Reference Online Premium
100+ reference books and dictionaries.
Provided by the AVL and JSU

LGBTQ+ Subject Headings

To see what materials we have in the Houston Cole Library, you can use the Library Catalog Basic Search in the box to the right. In general, the LGBTQ+ collection is broken down into the following areas:

HV697 - Families

HV1449 - Gay, Lesbian, Bi-sexual and Transgender (Social aspects)

Further breakdowns within the subject headings may be viewed at the Library of Congress website, Classification Outline.