LibGuides: Respiratory Therapy: RefWorks

RefWorks Assistance

Detailed assistance is available with functions such as exporting citations from databases and compiling bibliographies, and much more, from the Houston Cole Library's Refworks guide.

Adding Your Citations to RefWorks: 4/21/22
Detailed instructions for using RefWorks in science and health databases
RefWorks Intro
PowerPoint Introduction to RefWorks
RefWorks Setup
General directions for using RefWorks

RefWorks
Bibliographic management program that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities.
References can be quickly and easily imported into RefWorks from text files or online databases. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers, generating formatted bibliographies and manuscripts. With an improved user experience, full-text management and collaboration features, RefWorks gives students and faculty a tool that enables a more efficient and reliable process for producing research papers.

If you receive a notice about the website's security certificate, you should click on the "continue to the website" option to access this resource.

In-Text Citations While You Write

RefWorks Citation Manager
Use RefWorks while you are writing in Microsoft Word
Using RefWorks in Google Docs
Add-in to allow you to use RefWorks within Google Docs

RefWorks to the Rescue!

Getting Started: Create Your Account

To begin using Refworks to collect and organize citations for your research and create bibliographies, you will first need to set up an account.

Go to our RefWorks page.
Click on the Create Account link.
Enter your JSU Email address and click the "Check" button.
You will receive a "success" message and will be asked to create a password.
When you receive an activation email, you will need to validate your email address to continue.
After you validate your email, you will be re-directed to RefWorks where you will enter your name, role (student, faculty, etc.), and department affliliation.
- You may also be asked if you want to install the "Save to RefWorks" browser bookmarklet and if you would like to install one of the RefWorks paper writing helpers.
After you have setup your account, you will be redirected to that account and can begin adding your research.

Once your account is created, you can go to our RefWorks page and login using your JSU email address and your password.

If you have any questions or problems, please contact me. If I am not available, call the Library Reference Desk at (256) 782-8034 or 1-800-782-5291.

Exporting Citations from Selected Databases

CINAHL Complete

In your list of results:

To export a citation into RefWorks, open a record by clicking on the title of an article.
On the right sidebar, click Export.
The Export Manager will open.
Select Direct Export to RefWorks from the list. Click the Save button at top or bottom of the list.

In Refworks:

Click "Yes, export to the newest verion of RefWorks" if a screen opens and asks which version you want to use.
RefWorks will open automatically in a new window or tab.
Log in to your RefWorks account, if needed. The citation should be imported automatically.
When you see “Import complete. We've saved 1 document in your library.” you are successful.

Within RefWorks, your citations will show in the Last Imported Folder. You can move the citations into the folder of your choice.

Cochrane Library

In your list of results:

Conduct your search.
Click on the title of the review or article you want to cite in order to open the full record
Click on Cite this Review on the right side of the screen
In the box that pops up, look for Save citation to:, then click on the icon for RefWorks. (Even though it is not the blue icon, it works.)
The citation will be exported into RefWorks

In RefWorks:

Click "Yes, export to the newest verion of RefWorks" if a screen opens and asks which version you want to use.RefWorks will open automatically in a new window or tab.

Log in to your RefWorks account, if needed. The citation should be imported automatically.
When you see “Import complete. We've saved 1 document in your library.” you are successful.

Within RefWorks, your citations will show in the Last Imported Folder. You can move the citations into the folder of your choice.

PubMed/Medline

From your database list of results:
1.From your list of search results, select references to import by clicking the checkbox next to the reference(s).
2. Click on Send To at the top right.
3. Under Choose Destination, select Citation Manager. Click Create File.
4. Click Create File. Save the citations.nbib file to your computer.

In RefWorks
1. Login to your RefWorks account if you have not already done so.
2. Click on the + (plus) sign at the top of the screen. Select Import References.
3. Under Import from a File, select a file from your computer.
4.Locate the citations.nbib file and click on Open.
5. Click on Import.

Within RefWorks, your citations will appear in the Last Imported Folder. You can move the citations into the folder of your choice.

Save to RefWorks

You can install a browser tool for RefWorks called the Save to RefWorks button. The Save to RefWorks button allows you to take information from a web page and import into your RefWorks library.

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on the More icon and select Tools. From there, drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser's toolbar. Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

Note: when this alternate method works with PubMed or other databases that have no direct export, and require you to export and save a text file and import into RefWorks, it eliminates a few steps in saving your citations.

Health and Sciences Librarian

Paula Barnett-Ellis

Email Me

Contact:

9th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265-1602
256-782-5249
256-782-5872
pbarnett@jsu.edu