Find Journal Articles - SW 350 - Research in Social Work - LibGuides at Jacksonville State University

Resources

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles on a topic, you will need to search in databases that index the articles in various journals. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following:

Academic OneFile
Database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
A Gale Cengage database that includes Agriculture Collection, Communication & Mass Media Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, and LegalTrac.
Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
A ProQuest database provided by the AVL
Gale Academic OneFile Select
- This link opens in a new window
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries.
General OneFile
- This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL.
Formerly InfoTrac OneFile.

HUD User
Housing research and information
Information for Practice
"To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship."

JSTOR
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
We subscribe to the following JSTOR collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I
Arts & Sciences II
Arts & Sciences III
Arts & Sciences IV
Arts & Sciences V
Arts & Sciences VI
Arts & Sciences VII
Arts & Science VIII
Arts & Sciences IX
Arts & Sciences X
Arts & Sciences XI
Arts & Sciences XII
Arts & Sciences XIII
Arts & Sciences XIV
Arts & Sciences XV
Biological Sciences
Business I
Business II
Business IV
Global Plants
Hebrew Journals Collection
Ireland Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Lives of Literature
Public Health Collection
Security Studies Collection
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Sustainability Collection
World Heritage Sites: Africa
MasterFILE Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general interest periodicals.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multi-disciplinary periodical database containing full-text articles from 2300 publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, general sciences, arts and literature, business, and law.
An EBSCOhost database
Opposing Viewpoints
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
A Gale Cengage database provided by the AVL
Oxford Journals Online
Journal articles in all subject areas.
Points of View Reference Source
- This link opens in a new window
Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
ProQuest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
A ProQuest database.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Publications include over 447 subscribed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Social Science Database
Anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more provided by ProQuest.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Social Sciences Full Text
Access to this content is through OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
An EBSCOhost database
Social Services Abstracts
Research in social work, human services, and related areas.
A ProQuest database
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.

How Do I Access These Resources?

When you're prompted for a student/staff ID and your last name, type in your student/staff number (all numbers, no dashes, no spaces) including ALL leading zeroes and your last name. For example:

Student/Staff ID: 123456789
Last Name: smith

Click the "Submit" button and you're in! Once you have been authenticated, you can begin searching the resource. If you have any problems accessing the databases, use the contact information in the Help box above to contact us.

Electronic Resources

There are a number of electronic resources you can use to research your area. The databases on this page are some of the more useful ones. You can also search for a specific journal using the search box below. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Subject Specialist.

SW 350 - Research in Social Work: Find Journal Articles

Special Note

Video

Core Journals Abstracted and Indexed in Social Work Abstracts

Find E-Journal (EBSCO A to Z)

Resources

Start with these Databases to Locate Articles

How Do I Access These Resources?

Electronic Resources