Skip to main content

Lang&Lit: EH203 & 204 -- Survey of English Literature : Find Books

This Library Guide directs you to print and electronic information sources for the survey courses in English Literature. The Guide is selective, not comprehensive; the sources listed are representative of their type.

Page Overview

This page focuses on books.  It offers examples of the types of books which may be used during a research assignment.  One characteristic of the Library of Congress Classification System, which is the system that Houston Cole Library uses, is that like is shelved with like.  For the researcher this means that once you have found the location of the particular book you are seeking, you should scan the titles of nearby books to see if there are others that might help you with your research project.

Selection of Circulating Books

These are some books available through Houston Cole Library.  HCL provides some books in print format, some in electronic format, and some in both.  The catalog record for each book indicates the formats in which it is available.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Search for eBooks

Start with these Databases to Locate Books

To find books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:

Search for Electronic Reference Books

Start with these Databases to Locate Reference Books

To find reference books on a topic, you can either search the Library Catlaog using the above search widget or you can search one of the following databases:

Selection of Reference Books

Reference books are of many types (bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, gazetteers) and are used for various purposes and at different stages during the research process.  Some academic disciplines, particularly those in the humanities, rely more heavily on reference books than do disciplines in the sciences or social sciences.  Because of their connection to an academic discipline, these works are called specialized reference books.  Their role and what they provide in research is different from what is done by electronic databases or circulating books that can be checked out.  For student research, probably the most useful type of      specialized reference book is the encyclopedia (or book under a different designation  that still functions as an encyclopedia).

In research, reference books are useful to

  • obtain background information to get the broad view of a topic prior to beginning research
  • narrow the topic to a subject suitable for a research paper
  • learn about unfamiliar people, places, and things encountered further along in the research process
  • introduce researchers to  more in-depth sources pertaining to the subject      

Aside from assisting in research, these specialized reference encyclopedias also can                                                               

  • help students prepare for exams (especially comprehensive examinations for degrees)                                           
  • provide students enough basic information to participate in class discussions
  • help teachers prepare lesson plans for things which will be covered in class but which are not a major part of the syllabus   

Here is a selection of our reference books for English literature.  Please use the Library JaxCat Catalog to find more reference books.  [See the Important Journals box under the Find Articles tab for Year's Work in English Studies.]