Skip to main content

Library Access Off-campus: For Faculty

Course Reserve

Course reserve maintains a collection of course related, high-demand, high-risk, and librarian discretionary materials that are segregated, often temporarily, from the general collection and usually assigned restrictive loan periods.

Instructors may use this form to request course reserves.

Find more information about the course reserve at  Reserve Questions page, Reserve Policy or contact Reserve Desk at 256-782-8490.

Requesting for Purchase

Please check the Library Catalog before placing any requests.

Requests for Library purchases are accepted from faculty, staff, and students. All requests are evaluated according to standards in the Houston Cole Library Collection Management and Development Policy and the Acquisitions Policy. Contact Mary Bevis for more information.


Library Instruction / Orientation

Library instruction is designed to promote information literacy by teaching library patrons the organization and structure of information and the variety of research methodologies employed to access relevant information in an effective, efficient, timely manner, thus providing a foundation for contemporary and lifelong learning. 

Instructors may use this form to request a library instruction for your class. 

Faculty/Librarian Collaboration

You may enhance your online courses by embedding a librarian in your Blackboard course. 

  • Add a Library Contact for your students in case they need assistance.
  • Meet with a subject librarian to work through assignment ideas and for customized course support.
  • Implement Faculty/Librarian collaboration to teach information literacy.

Michael R. Hearn, (2005) "Embedding a librarian in the classroom: an intensive information literacy model", Reference Services Review, Vol. 33 Iss: 2, pp.219 - 227

Digitization Project Proposal

The goal of digitization projects is to create,  maintain, and provide access to electronic resources which support the scholarly and informational needs of the Jacksonville State University community; secondarily, to also make these resources available to the local community, businesses, schools, and Alabama libraries, thereby contributing to the educational, cultural, and economic well-being of the area; and to increase knowledge about the development of the Library’s digital collections.

Check out the avaiable digital collections, if you are interested to help us developing a collection, please submit a  Nomination for Digitization  form.

Databases on Trial

Databases on trial have limited time of access. We may or may not subscribe to them. 

Databases on trial

Please review these databases, send your opinions using the Database Evaluation Form or contact Mary Bevis.

Finding pURL Link

  • You cannot copy and paste the URL in the location bar of your browser. These links are not permanent. In most of the databases, these were redirect links.  
  • In order to allow remote access, a pointer (http://lib-proxy.jsu.edu/login?url=) must be included in all URLs.
  • Include a citation with the embedded link in the Blackboard Course for an alternate access.
  • Check your links off-campus every time you post.
See following PURL link  displays in a database:
EBSCOhost
 
Science Direct

JSTOR

Gale


If you have an article from a different database, please check the availability of that article in another database. Contact Yingqi Tang at tang@jsu.edu or extension 5757 if you need further assistance..

Resources for Creative Teaching

Refero - an Anti-plagiarism Tutorial

Refero (Created by the Libraries of Blekinge Institute of Technology and Linnaeus University), is a web based tutorial developed to help students in higher education understand what plagiarism is and give advice on how to avoid it. 
The name Refero is latin and means "I refer". The tutorial contains 16 pages and takes about 30 minutes to go through. Access the Refero here.

Featured Databases & Books

Library Contacts

Reference Hours & Calendar:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am-10:30 pm (CST)
  • Fri: 9 am-4 pm (CST)
  • Sat: 9 am-4:30 pm (CST)
  • Sun: 3 pm-10:30 pm (CST)

Library Calendar