LibGuides: Medicine, Health, and Nursing: Find Articles (Databases)

Health Sciences Databases

Alt-HealthWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
BioMed Central
Focuses on journals covering science, technology and medicine specializing in biology, medicine and health.
Coronavirus Research Database
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
DynaMed
Medical information database with nearly 2,000 clinical topic summaries.
EBSCOhost's Health Databases
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of EBSCOhost databases covering medical disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL. Databases included in this group are Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition.
Family Health Database
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Health and Medicine
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Covers sports, sports medicine, and exercise science journals and magazines. Contains over 1 million articles, with more than 25% full text coverage.
An EBSCOhost database

Other Useful Databases

Global Issues in Context
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.
A Gale Cengage database
Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a giant database that covers more than 8,000 journals, 85% of which are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text, and full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of disciplines.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Social Sciences Full Text
Access to this content is through OmniFile Full Text Mega.
This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
An EBSCOhost database

Nursing Databases

Start with these Nursing Databases to Locate Articles

To find articles for your research, you will need to search in databases that cover your specific topics. Depending on your topic, you may want to start with the following nursing resources: Databases in related subjects may also be of use.

CINAHL Ultimate
The new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
An EBSCOhost database provided by the AVL
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Nursing and allied health.
A ProQuest database | Part of ProQuest Central
Nursing Full Text Plus
Nursing, medicine.
An Ovid database
PubMed (Medline)
- This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.

A-Z List of Nursing-related Databases
Nursing subject list selected from Houston Cole Library's list of databases

Finding Evidence-based Information

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
A John Wiley database.

Science Databases

Biological Sciences
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology.
Provided by ProQuest
ScienceDirect
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
An Elsevier database
Wiley Online Library
Journal articles on a variety of subjects.

Psychology Databases

Psychology databases can be helpful in finding tests and measures and statistics, etc. See the related Psychology subject guide page for more information.

PsycArticles
General psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
An EBSCOhost database
PsycInfo 1887-Current
Indexes the psychological literature from 1887 to the present time.
An EBSCOhost database