Skip to main content

LibGuides: An Introduction and How-To Guide: Widgets

An introduction to the LibGuides tool with How-To guides and instructions for library faculty on setting up their own LibGuides.

Rate the widgets

Which widget do you find most useful?

Rate the widgets
EBSCOhost Research Databases: 1 votes (50%)
Gale General Databases: 0 votes (0%)
Gale Virtual Reference Library: 0 votes (0%)
ProQuest General Databases: 0 votes (0%)
ProQuest Dissertations: 0 votes (0%)
JSTOR: 1 votes (50%)
OCLC / WorldCat: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 2

Using Widgets in LibGuides

Adding custom widgets to your LibGuides is a great way to connect users to a variety of information on and off your website. On this page you will see examples of HCL widgets you'll find useful, as well as links to widgets from other libraries you may want to modify for your use.

Library Catalog Basic Search

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:

Advanced Search

Discovery Search Widget

Search Discovery
 

Advanced Search

 

Database Search Widgets

Some vendors supply search widgets for their platforms. Those that are available have been created. Click on the vendor below or use the drop-down menu above to find those widgets.

Search Discovery
Limit Your Results

Need Help? Ask a Librarian.

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

Reference hours:

  • Mon-Thurs: 9 am - 10:30 pm
  • Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sun: 3 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.

Find E-Journal (EBSCO A to Z)

Search:
Within:
Search Type:

Find Journal(s)

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results

Where to Find Widgets & Blidgets

Widgets and blidgets currently in our LibGuides came from a variety of sources; some originated on library web pages and others were created using free commerical web 2.0 resources. Jodi and I will continue to add widgets we think are useful, so check back periodically for new ones you may want to use in your LibGuides.

Oxford Music Online

Search Oxford Music Online

NOTE: Oxford Music Online is limited to 1 simultaneous user. Please be sure to logout when you have finished searching this database.

Oxford Music Online contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.

Films On Demand

Search WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Search Oxford Music Online


NOTE: Oxford Music Online is limited to 1 simultaneous user. Please be sure to logout when you have finished searching this database.

Search Oxford Music Online

Search Oxford Music Online

NOTE: Oxford Music Online is limited to 1 simultaneous user. Please be sure to logout when you have finished searching this database.

Discovery Search Widget

Search Discovery
Limit Your Results

Test Widget

Search: Academic Search Premier
       Advanced Search

test 2

Search Discovery

Regular Hours

Day Time
Monday - Thursday 7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday 3:00 AM - 11:00 PM

 

During periods when classes are not in session, the Library is open Monday-Friday from 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM.

EBSCO EDS

Search Discovery
Limit Your Results

Library Contact Information

Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Road North
Jacksonville, AL 36265

Telephone (Circulation): 256-782-5872
Telephone (Reference): 256-782-8034

FAX: 256-782-5872

OVID Search

Search Mode: Basic (natural language) Advanced (syntax)
Search:
Database:

Head of Technical Services

Jodi Poe's picture
Jodi Poe
Contact:
8th Floor
Houston Cole Library
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
256-782-8103
256-782-5872
jpoe@jsu.edu
Website

testging