Skip to main content

Art Technologies: Ceramics, Photography, and Film Technologies

Library resources & course guides for ceramics, photography, and film technologies.

JSU Library Subscribed Databases on Photography, Film, and Ceramic (ID required for access):

Video Databases at JSU Library

Library Collections on Art Technologies

Circulating / Reference Collection

Books available for borrowing by students and faculty members. Books for photography and ceramics are shelved on the stacks of the library on 10th Floor under Call Number TP & TR. InterLibrary Loan Service is also available.

Periodical = Serial = a publication that comes out regularly (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.) that uses a numbering system that is intended to continue indefinitely. Magazines, journals and newspapers are all referred to as periodicals or serials. Ceramics related periodicals can be found here, film related journals can be found here, and photography related journals can be found here.

Scholarly Journals are academic periodicals that publish on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.). They offer original scholarship and reviews written by expert scholars. Most include long articles with footnotes and/or bibliographies.  

General magazines have essays, editorials, and news written by journalists for non-experts with photos, cartoons, sidebars, usually sources are not cited. They are good for basic information, news, opinions about public policies, etc.

Databases are collections of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Use databases to search hundreds of different publications to find articles on your topic. A list of Library databases can be accessed here.

OER (Open educational resources & adopted textbooks)

Ceramics:

  • Beazley Archive: Open database provides the world's collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
  • accessCeramics: A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists

Films

  • AFI Catalog of Feature Films: a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film.

Photography

For more general open access resources, please see Open Educational Resources (OER) page.

Professor, Law/Technology Librarian

Hanrong Wang's picture
Hanrong Wang
Contact:
Houston Cole Library, 10th Floor

Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville, Alabama 36265

Tel: ++1-256 782-5250

Fax: ++1-256-782-5872

hwang@jsu.edu

Also Contact Me:

  • to discuss ways the Library collections can support your curriculum and research needs through the acquisition or provision of access to resources;
  • to answer questions about library research materials, tool, services, policies, or procedures;
  • to obtain reports on library collections and services for program reviews, accreditation reports, grant applicants, etc.;
  • to schedule research instruction or support sessions tailored specifically for your course topic or project;
  • to obtain additional or individualized research assistance for students and faculty.

Normal Working Hours

Fall, Spring, May & Summer Sessions :

Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 A.M.-5:30 P.M.

Thursday: 3:30 P.M.-11:00 P.M.    Friday: 9:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M.

Office Location: 10th Floor, Houston Cole Library

Course/Subject Guides

  • Research Foundations Tutorial: fundamental research skills, covers the selection of appropriate information sources; effective searching of library databases and the Internet; and the location, evaluation and citation of information.

Search Options

Basic search in the Houston Cole Library catalog. 

Search Catalog: by:  

 

Advanced Search

Search for Journal Title
Limit Your Results